Five Minute Friday

Church as a Haven {Five Minute Friday}

I’m joining with Kate and the Five Minute Friday crew for our weekly 5-minute free writing. Today we’re writing on the word: haven.

Go.

I never imagined church would be a haven.

Funny, isn’t it?

haven

Church should be, right? It should be the place we turn when we have nothing else. Heck, it should be the place we turn first. But my church history isn’t that warm and fuzzy. It’s full of great people, but also heartache, judgment, and struggles. Haven? No, that wasn’t what I found church to be.

Now though, it’s where I go to be built up. It’s full of those 2am people. You know, the ones you can call at 2am when life is in crisis and know they’ll be with you in a minute. They’ll be praying for you, speaking words of love and truth, holding you.

These people, this church…it’s become my haven.

Each Sunday when I park my car at 7:25am, preparing for the 7:30am Bridge Kids volunteer meeting before the 8am service, I can’t help buy smile as I see “my people” walking across the parking lot and into the building. Coffee, donuts, good people…that’s my Sunday morning ritual (oh yeah, plus about 100 1st-5th grade kids).

And I feel safe. I feel welcome. I feel known. 

Because I’ve found my haven. And I walk with people who journey together through the crazy thing we call life.

Stop.

-Jen

20 thoughts on “Church as a Haven {Five Minute Friday}

  1. It’s SO encouraging to read a positive post about church, Jen. I’ve been hungry lately for the kind of community you’re writing about tonight– praying I find it soon.

    Visiting from FMF! 🙂

    1. I spent a while (too long, really) staying away from churches. But now I’m so blessed to be in one that has such an awesome community!

  2. safe, welcome, known – yes my friend.
    these are so important. I have my people and i’m so thankful for them. I’m also thankful for the church family that I’m blessed to call my own right now. Thank you for sharing this reflection love.

  3. So glad you’ve found a church that’s also a haven! That’s such a gift ❤ I've only encountered a couple like that, in all the churches I've been to – but I'm grateful that one of them is the one we're a part of now.

  4. I’m so, so thankful that you’ve found a haven in your church, Jen! What a blessing. Thanks for writing and linking up with FMF!

  5. So glad you’ve found a haven at your church. I pray more people find haven at their churches. Such a blessing for you friend. I’m in the #8 spot this week.

  6. Visiting from FMF and what a gift to find the church as blessing and haven and discover people to share your journey! …Just as for you, that’s rarely been my experience. I’m parked in #9 this week.

    1. Thanks Leah! It’s been a blessing to have those people, after not having a church community like that for a long time.

  7. I am glad you found haven in church. I too have found haven in church I started attending back in October. Unfortunately, church was not a haven for me. In fact for the longest time, I thought they was no need for church. Now I know the true meaning of church.

    1. I used to be the same…thought I could go it alone because church scared me. I’m glad not to be in that place anymore.

      1. Kefir er smurt på,men plast har jeg aldri forsøkt,så merrshi!!! Ja sier du det blir sol,så blir det sol,kos dere riktig med både gp og nasdnoaljag!! Glad klem

  8. That’s wonderful that you’ve found a haven in your church family. What a blessing true fellowship is, isn’t it? Thank you for sharing this beautiful piece.

  9. So glad you’ve found your haven in church! Yes, so many of us don’t have warm and fuzzy experiences of church, but your words extend hope and encouragement that it’s possible to find the kind of haven you are referring to. Love your heart, friend. Looking forward to seeing you soon!

  10. Oh, yeah! This is exactly what church should be. The Body of Christ come together to love on, learn from and encourage each other as we journey along the road that leads to Him. I, too, have a checkered history with the church, but along with you I am so glad to be where I am now.

Leave a comment