Reviews

I Was Blind (Dating), But Now I See {Review}

I don’t think I can adequately explain how much I love Stephanie Rishe’s I Was Blind (Dating), But Now I See, but I will try my hardest to convey that point in this review.

Short version: I LOVED this book. Go buy it for any single woman you know, or for yourself. Trust me!

I Was Blind Dating
Source: Amazon

Long version: It’s been a very long time since I’ve so thoroughly agreed with almost every single word in a book, but I Was Blind (Dating) is one of those books. When I wasn’t saying silent (or not so silent) “amens”, I was rolling in laughter. Rische has the incredible skill of combining comedy and gut-wrenching truth into her writing. For entertainment value alone, I would recommend this book to any woman.

Do you hear me on that? Any woman, marital status aside. Because it’s a hilarious book.

But it’s so much more than a funny, feel-good, disastrous-dating-stories book. Rische doesn’t offer a method to get a man. She doesn’t point to a tried-and-true equation of doing certain things to land the perfect husband. I’ve read those books, and perhaps you have too, and they’ve only left me feeling defeated. Rische instead deals with the heart of the matter, digging deep into topics many of us may hide from, but in reality need to find the courage to address.

And while, yes, there are some great dating disaster stories in the book, Rische shares her long journey of dating from a point of complete vulnerability, sharing the depths of her heart. And this book is encouraging beyond belief. Because relationships aren’t a set of instructions to follow, or equations to figure out. They happen in a messy world with messy people who often do silly things.

Rische shares her struggles with remaining single longer than she ever imagined, and how she struggled to deal with expectations and questions from friends, family, and strangers. As a 27 year old, I get it. While I’m in happily in a dating relationship now, I haven’t always been, and I totally get where she’s coming from, and who she’s writing to. Because she’s writing to me, a year ago, and I wish I had this book back then.

I highly encourage you to purchase I Was Blind (Dating), But Now I See. Maybe you’re single, or not-yet-married. Maybe you’ve been married ten years but your best friend is wondering what she’s doing wrong. Maybe you know a few single ladies in your church who need some affirmation that they are beautiful, wonderful, fantastic ladies who are cherished by an amazing God. But I firmly believe we all know someone who needs this book, so grab your copy today!

Trust me, it’s incredible!

-Jen


 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher, Tyndale, in exchange for my honest review.

One thought on “I Was Blind (Dating), But Now I See {Review}

Leave a Reply

