31 Days · Intentional Living

No Longer a Slave to Fear {#write31days}

I’ve spent too many years hunkering down in fear, stepping back when I need to go forward. I’ve let fear seal my lips, stay my feet, and pierce my heart. It has bound me when I’ve wanted to reach out, and as I give into fear, it grows exponentially, always encompassing more.

I am no longer a slave to fear.

While I don’t think we can banish fear completely from our lives, we can contain fear. We can restrict how it affects us. We can stop being slaves to fear.

This is another song my church has started to sing recently, and I can’t help but love it. It’s an anthem, and a dare. Belting out these words allows the brave to pour in. It’s telling the enemy that he is limited, and his fear-mongering tactics will not rule in my life again.

And while I still fell fear, it doesn’t run the show. For 28 days I’ve been writing on brave, and with each word written, I see fear retreat a little. Do you feel it?

Living as a slave to fear is a hard place to live. It beats us down and allows more fear to gain a foothold in our hearts. When we become a slave to fear, we can still see where we could be…where God wants us to dwell. But the chasm of fear stretches before us, and we shrink back.

And then the feelings of disappointment rush in, accompanied by failure. Which is usually the very fear that kept us from stepping out.

But when we find that seed of bravery and stand up despite the fear, and step forward in faith instead of shrinking back, we see God move in our lives.

[bctt tweet=”Just as fear grows exponentially, so does bravery, when we boldly declare we are no longer a slave to fear.”]

Today I challenge you to look at your fears. Are you a slave to them? Do they slow down the work that God calls you to?

If the answer is yes, do not feel shame. Do not allow failure to creep in. Instead, listen to this song and cast aside your fears. Throw them to the ground and proclaim:

[bctt tweet=”I am no longer a slave to fear.”]

And then walk boldly in faith.

You can do it. I know you can. Because God didn’t create you to be a slave to fear.

Oh no, friend. He created you to shine bright and live boldly in His love.

-Jen


31 Days: Living Brave

This post is part of my #write31days series for 2015: Living Brave. Each day in October, I will be posting about living brave and what that looks like in everyday life. Curious about 31 Days? Check out the website and the hundreds of other bloggers joining in this year: 31 Days.

One thought on “No Longer a Slave to Fear {#write31days}

Leave a Reply

