31 Days · Intentional Living

Blindly Brave {#write31days}

Over the past year, I’ve gotten to know a few of the #FMFParty ladies pretty well as we planned the #FMFRetreat together. Last summer, we were finally able to meet in person, which was an incredible blessing. One of the lovely ladies, Mary, gave a devotion at the retreat about living bravely, and it spoke volumes to me. And so, of course, I asked if she would be willing to write a post for my 31 Days series. Incidentally enough, she is also writing on brave this month, and her words are phenomenal! Really, you should check her series out!

But for now, hear her heart on embracing blind bravery.


Being blindly brave sounds like an oxymoron. How can you step out confidently if you cannot see where you are going?

Blind Brave

The beauty is that God calls us to step out all the time into the unknown because He is teaching us what brave faith looks like.

The journey I am currently on is one that is preparing my heart to step out bravely for God. But as I desire to be bold for God, I am seeking, but not finding. I am left with many questions, but no answers.

Brave requires perseverance in the face of questions and in the times of stillness, to allow the answers to find us. Stepping out for God is what we are called to do even when it looks like we do not know where we are going. It means we are letting God do His brave work in us as preparation for the bold steps that will surely come.

 

In this time of retirement, I am looking ahead to find God’s lead into my what’s next. The horizon is fuzzy in the distance as I open my heart to saying “yes” but God will make that clear in His time. All I can do is let the inside work continue as God readies me for this next step. I hold onto His truth and know that the unknown is replaced by the known when we keep our faith in sync with God.

I have no quick fixes to offer when we are faced with choosing to be brave. There are no neat and tidy steps to follow when our next steps are unknown. My best answer is to keep our hearts open to adopting bold answers from God. Stay ready in the preparation and in the stillness before God’s call becomes clear. Accept God’s call when it comes and say “yes” to what’s next. Continue to have a vision for the future-dream a little and take steps forward with the assurance that God will open doors or close them according to His plan. In the times of waiting and uncertainty, wait expectantly for all God will bring in this journey to brave.

[Tweet “Brave requires perseverance in the face of questions to allow the answers to find us. #bravefaith”]

blind brave image

Remember, brave is looking through the glass even when the view is unclear. It is embracing hope for what is to come and trusting that God always knows best. It is taking baby steps forward through the unknown while trusting God every step of the way.

Let’s be brave in this journey together!


maryMary Geisen is the mom of two amazing, grown sons. She is blessed to be a retired teacher and a woman seeking God in the ordinary routines of life. Lover of the beach, coffee and long walks are coupled with a love for all children resulting in a momma bear advocacy. God’s story for her life blossomed into written words that begged to be shared with others and her writing journey began. The power of God’s words has inspired her journey of healing and drawing closer to God through the power of grace.

Blog:  www.passagethroughgrace.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/passagethroughgrace

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MaryGeisen


31 Days: Living Brave

This post is part of my #write31days series for 2015: Living Brave. Each day in October, I will be posting about living brave and what that looks like in everyday life. Curious about 31 Days? Check out the website and the hundreds of other bloggers joining in this year: 31 Days.

15 thoughts on “Blindly Brave {#write31days}

    1. Thank you Karrilee! We both found that God is calling us to brave and I am amazed how our words are sometimes similar but yet so different. God is teaching each of us about brave but not in the same way. Hugs!

  1. Hi Mary … your series has been sinking in somewhere deep. For more than once this past weekend I found myself whispering into the ears and heart of a grandchild what I saw to be true … that they were brave. Courageous.

    Thank you for equipping me to see the many colors of brave, friend. I appreciate you so …

    Hugs!

  2. Brave is a recurring theme and a message God continues to speak in me. I’ve been praying for Jen and am wearing a pink ribbon to remind me – yet, every time I pray for her Holy Spirit tells me to pray for you! xo

  3. Brave is messy–it messes with our plans and our vision of what our future should look like. But it also holds far greater rewards than we could ever imagine! Keep on with your brave, my friends!

    1. We all need to keep on keeping on! God only asks us to take baby steps but keep taking those steps. Being brave is an everyday occurrence that is made easier when we let go and let God. Thanks for being here.

  4. Beautiful: “Remember, brave is looking through the glass even when the view is unclear. It is embracing hope for what is to come and trusting that God always knows best. It is taking baby steps forward through the unknown while trusting God every step of the way.”

    1. Some of my favorite words that God is teaching me time and time again. I can’t seem to learn it well but the beauty is that He never tires of teaching me over and over again. Thanks for following me over here!

  5. These words really spoke to me today about being brave:” in the times of stillness, to allow the answers to find us.” Yes, that is so true! As we wait on the Lord while we ask our questions, we learn how to live into the answers to come. God could be wanting to develop the fruit of faith, trust, patience or endurance in us, so the waiting is always more worthwhile than we may know at the time. Bless you, Mary, for providing such spiritual bounty with this great series! 🙂 x

    1. As I have been writing this series on brave, I am leaning that there is such depth and knowledge that is found in the waiting periods of life. God has me there right now and we can either embrace it or fight it all the way. I know that in the stillness the answers will find me because I have seen glimpses of this already happening. I am blessed by a God who never gives up on me. Thank you for being here and walking me through this journey.

Leave a Reply

