31 Days · Intentional Living

Offer Up Your Gifts {#write31days}

I tend to discount my abilities.

Now, understand that I’m not spectacularly talented in anything, nor do I think that I have any specific gifts to grace humanity with. Yet we all have our own God-given talents, whether we realize it or not. We all have something that God has given us a talent in, which brings us joy. Maybe it’s writing, photography, cooking, hospitality, painting, running…whatever it is, know it comes from God.

And He wants you to use it.

Too often I lean into my insecurities and play down these skills, thinking I can’t really do anything with them. That nobody really cares whether I ______ or not.

offer up your gifts

And that’s a dangerous place to live. And a sad place. It’s allowing the tactics of the enemy to gain stronghold and weaken the powerful gifts God has given.

It takes bravery to stand up and take ownership of your gifts. Oh, friends, I know how crazy-scary that can be. But doing so allows God to take your offering…your gift…and multiply it exponentially.

It also takes bravery to not long after someone else’s gift and use your own instead. Maybe you feel insignificant. Maybe you long for more. But honestly, you’ve no clue how strongly your gifts impact those around you.

Don’t hide those gifts. And please don’t shy away from them. [bctt tweet=”Offer up your gifts, and watch how God uses them.”]

You don’t need to be standing on a stage in a stadium. Maybe your stage is a classroom. Maybe it’s a nursery. Maybe it’s a conference room.

Your gifts only impact others if you use them. And you should use them now, where you are, rather than waiting until the conditions seem right. Because there’s somebody nearby who is in desperate need of the gifts you have to offer.

[bctt tweet=”Be brave. Offer them up. And let God do the work.”]

-Jen


This post is part of my #write31days series for 2015: Living Brave. Each day in October, I will be posting about living brave and what that looks like in everyday life. Curious about 31 Days? Check out the website and the hundreds of other bloggers joining in this year: 31 Days.

3 thoughts on “Offer Up Your Gifts {#write31days}

  1. Jen, I think you wrote that just for me. Just before I read I had a conversation with my husband on these very points. I have struggled this week with comparison again. So thank you for reminding me that I write for an audience of One first. Blessings to you on your trip!!

Leave a Reply

