31 Days · Intentional Living

Bold Imperfections {#write31days}

Can I just say it? I’m tired of trying to be perfect.

Hiding my imperfections is exhausting. Because friends? I have a whole lot of them.

I grew up in a church community that valued perfection. While they spoke of grace from the alter, when anyone fell short of perfect, judging and rumors soon followed. And so I was the “good girl”. The little goody-two-shoes who always tried to be perfect. But deep down inside, I knew I fell short. And that wore on me.

[bctt tweet=”It’s exhausting, trying to keep up perfect appearances in a very imperfect world.”]

Today I want to encourage you to be brave. Embrace your imperfections. Live fully, letting your imperfections boldly show.

Because life is messy.

Those days…you know them…the ones you’re running at  110%, trying to get everything done with an impossible schedule. And then something happens. It could be as simple as dropping coffee on yourself.

You lose it. Big time.

bold imperfections

Friends, I know we have all been there. At least I have. What if we gave ourselves permission to throw our ideals of perfection to the wind and embrace our bold imperfections. Instead of constantly trying to fight our little imperfect bits, what if we learned to accept them. Not to settle into a life that what’s less than God dreams for us.

But simply to give ourselves permission to be imperfect.

To have messy hair and wrinkled clothes. To show up without make-up. To yell, cry, or slump over in exhaustion.

And what if instead of judging our imperfect neighbors, we came alongside them with a brownie and a “me too”.

We waste way too much energy on trying to be perfect, and to what end?  To wake tomorrow, feeling defeated? To go to bed and realized that you missed out on the little moments that make life vibrant, because we were trying to “keep up with the Joneses”?

What if we stepped out in vulnerability and told our friends, “I’m not perfect. Here’s where I mess up. Will you pray for me?”

Scary, right? Totally.

But in boldly admitting our imperfections, we allow others to walk alongside as we try to live more like Jesus. By sharing our struggles, we can encourage those who are struggling beside us. By bringing our bold imperfections to light, we can boldly show how God is working in our lives.

-Jen


This post is part of my #write31days series for 2015: Living Brave. Each day in October, I will be posting about living brave and what that looks like in everyday life. Curious about 31 Days? Check out the website and the hundreds of other bloggers joining in this year: 31 Days.

One thought on “Bold Imperfections {#write31days}

Leave a Reply

