31 Days · Intentional Living

Overwhelmed {#write31days}

Life’s hard, and it’s easy to get overwhelmed. Tell me I’m not alone in this.

You know how it goes. Our schedules are crammed crazy-busy-full, and still there’s more waiting to be done. Stress on top of stress, and suddenly we are overwhelmed. Whether that means blowing your top and losing it, or freezing up, unable to do anything. We’ve all been there, I’m pretty sure.

That’s not the overwhelmed I’m talking about. Friends, flee from that overwhelmed, because we weren’t created to live there, in that stress-filled, overwhelmed spot.

No, I’m talking about a different sort of overwhelmed. When we’re overwhelmed by who God is and what He is capable of doing.

[bctt tweet=”I’m challenging you to pray to be overwhelmed.”]

Our society is so used to being overwhelmed, but in all the wrong ways. What if, instead, we sought out being overwhelmed by God?

overwhelmed by God

What if we asked to be shocked by His glory? Stunned by His power? Overwhelmed simply by who He is.

Maybe you’ve been there, and you understand where I’m coming from.

When I lived in South Africa, I often wondered why God had sent me there. I knew I was being challenged and growing in faith, but I didn’t understand the end goal. Then one day, I was headed back to my village from Kuruman, crushed in the back of a small car, bumping along through the Kalahari desert. The black pavement stretched out before us in the hot, cramped car. And somehow, I started thinking about why I was there.

Suddenly, I was overwhelmed by what God had planned. I still didn’t understand the details, but I suddenly knew that God had me there to prepare me for ministry in the future. That He would use my new-found passions for His glory, and that period of my life was training grounds for what was coming. That was crystal clear, right in that moment.

As this car trundled through the desert wasteland, I was overwhelmed by a God who not only cared enough about me to have a plan for me, but to share it in an everyday moment. When I was off-handedly wondering, “Why am I here?” in a miserably hot car with too many people in it.

God works in big ways and in small ways, and I’m always surprised when He comes through in an off-hand, intimate moment when I’m going about my day. I’ve been overwhelmed by His presence in a sunrise, or a shifting cloud in a rainstorm. By the perfectly timed encouragement from a friend, or a verse whispered deep in my heart.

That is the overwhelmed we need to seek out.

[bctt tweet=”We need to be overwhelmed. Not by stress, but by the unending love of an endless God.”]

It’s scary too, because sometimes being overwhelmed puts us in an uncomfortable spot. It stirs up passion and compassion, and things that we have overlooked our entire lives now dig at our souls. The homeless man of the corner is no longer something to be ignored, but a name to be learned.

Being overwhelmed by our Creator fundamentally changes us and molds our heart to be more like His.

That’s where we’re meant to live. In a place where we are constantly growing and being overwhelmed by the passions that inflame our Savior’s heart. 

Are you ready to be overwhelmed?

Today I leave American soil to head to Cambodia, and I know I’ll be overwhelmed, in all the right ways. Will you pray for our team?

-Jen

31 Days: Living Brave


This post is part of my #write31days series for 2015: Living Brave. Each day in October, I will be posting about living brave and what that looks like in everyday life. Curious about 31 Days? Check out the website and the hundreds of other bloggers joining in this year: 31 Days.

2 thoughts on “Overwhelmed {#write31days}

  1. Love this song that you attached. I found you on twitter’s #fmfparty and soon agree that overwhelmed is an attitude and we choose if we are going to approach it positively or negatively. There are so many ways that God has blessed us with; may we “delight ourselves in YOU…and be overwhelmed by YOU.” #writeon

Leave a Reply

