31 Days · Intentional Living

Bravely Embracing Change {#write31days}

Today I’m thrilled to welcome my friend Julie into my writing space. Julie and I got to know each other through Five Minute Friday, and since we’re both Iowans, living only a couple of hours apart from one another, we’ve gotten to meet up a couple of times. I’m constantly overwhelmed by Julie’s kind, gentle nature, and her encouragement lifts me up every time we talk.

Read as Julie shares about embracing change, even when everything around you is shifting.


I was beginning to settle into my position after just completing five months on the job. I was building strong relationships and learning much. Having just finished writing a three-year grant, I looked forward to growing both the program and my skills in the months and years to come.

I certainly didn’t expect to hear the words, “You’re being laid off.”

But that Wednesday, those words rang loud and true.

What?? This wasn’t a part of my plan.

In six weeks I would be without a job. Six weeks!! I never, ever saw that coming.

Great. Here was another change in my life.

Like I really needed another. I mean, really… two job changes within a year, facing an “empty nest” at home, supporting my adult children in their future endeavors, searching for a home church, launching my writing ministry, and now this.

I never guessed at my age I’d be experiencing so much change, and so much uncertainty. Here I was, still seeking the answer to the question, “What do you want to be when you grow up??”

After the initial shock wore off, I did some soul searching. I was reminded how God had taken care of me through the changes in life before, and I could trust He’d take care for me in this time of transition as well.

“Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God.” –Corrie Ten Boom

It was time to be brave. Brave to embrace the right now moment, and brave to embark on a new-to-me journey.

It was time to hold my head up high, looking straight into my future, and all the possibilities that were waiting for me.

It was time to lean into God, and trust Him with my life. Again.

It was time to embrace the truth I wouldn’t be walking through these changes alone. He would be with me.

I can’t begin to guess what change(s) you may be facing today. I wish I knew to be able to encourage you specifically. But I do know this:  God is with you in them.

It’s okay to not have all the answers. It’s okay to not see what the future holds. It’s okay to lean into Him when you can’t rely on what you’ve always known. It’s okay to live right where He has you, and to be brave right there.

Where you are right now is God’s place for you. Live and obey and love and believe right there. 1 Corinthians 7:17 (The Message)

Bravely Embracing Change

Be brave in your time of change. He’s got you. You have nothing to be afraid of.

As I continue to walk this journey of bravely embracing change, I’ve come to understand, living this way of leaning into God and trusting Him in every part of my life is actually a freeing way to live. Resting in His care takes away the stress, the pressure, the anxiety, and the worry of not knowing what the future will hold, and replaces them with the reassurance that no matter what it holds, it’s going to be good.

It’ll be even better than what we expect it to be!

Being brave right along with you,

Julie


Julie LefebureJulie Lefebure is a small-town Iowa girl who finds joy in sunrises, sunsets, a good cup of coffee, and simple living. She’s married to Bill, and is mom to two, make-their-mom-proud young adults. Julie values living a real life through her faith in Jesus, and shares it by encouraging others through writing and speaking. Julie has two blogs which can be found at julielefebure.com.

Thank you Julie, for all the beautiful words!


 

31 Days: Living Brave

This post is part of my #write31days series for 2015: Living Brave. Each day in October, I will be posting about living brave and what that looks like in everyday life. Curious about 31 Days? Check out the website and the hundreds of other bloggers joining in this year: 31 Days.

 

22 thoughts on “Bravely Embracing Change {#write31days}

  1. I’ve encountered a very long season. Beginning in November I will be blogging through Kristen Strong’s book, A Girl Meets Change. I want to learn to embrace it, and not run and hide from it.

    1. Hi, I am reading Kristen Strong’s book about embracing change. I didn’t know if you had heard of her book yet. It is great! I found your post so inspiring and uplifting. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Love that Corrie ten Boom quote! What a way with words! The entire post was great. Thanks for sharing. Oh and, I read your bio and… we seem to have a lot in common. My topic for the #write31days this year is “sunrise thoughts” 😀 Have a blessed day!! c

  3. Oh yes, Julie – I love this! (I mean… for other people! LOL! I am learning to love it for me, too!) 😉 And this: ” It’s okay to live right where He has you, and to be brave right there.” Amen, sister! Amen!

  4. Jen – did I know you were from Iowa? I am from Iowa!

    This post really resonates with me – I have had so much change this year! But there comes a point where you can either give up or trust God. Thanks for the encouragement!

    1. Melissa, what part of Iowa are you from?? We’ll all have to meet up sometime. So fun! You are correct… we can either give up or trust God. Sounds like you’re making the right choice! Hugs to you!

  5. It seems like the older I get, the harder change is. I guess I had a mental image of everything being “settled” as the nest emptied. Five years ago when we uprooted our family to move from SC to TN, and my oldest two sons were living in different states from us for the first time, a line from “Be Still My Soul” sustained me: “In every change, He faithful will remain.”

  6. Hi Julie! Your words mirror my own in this season. We would have so much to talk about in this journey. God is the one sure place to turn to every time and He will make us brave through the change. Praying for you!

    1. Thanks, Mary! I’m sure we would have much to talk about. (We need to meet up somewhere in the middle!) I think of you often as I can imagine the season of change you are walking through. Thanks for the prayers. I’m praying for you as well!

  7. Love seeing you here, Julie. So much THIS: “As I continue to walk this journey of bravely embracing change, I’ve come to understand, living this way of leaning into God and trusting Him in every part of my life is actually a freeing way to live. Resting in His care takes away the stress, the pressure, the anxiety, and the worry of not knowing what the future will hold, and replaces them with the reassurance that no matter what it holds, it’s going to be good”

  8. I love when bloggers are able to connect when they live close together. My two closest blogger friends are pretty far away, but I know someday we will meet up.

    Loved your post on bravery Julie. I think when life throws us a curve ball we can either say no fair or take it as an opportunity to grow. Life isn’t easy, but being brave makes it more of an adventure and you are able to take control!

Leave a Reply

