31 Days · Intentional Living

We Are Not of Those Who Shrink Back {#write31days}

It’s so easy to shrink back.

It’s easy to say “no”. To hide in the masses. Or to avoid topics you don’t feel like discussing.

I think it’s part of our nature to hide when we disagree, or fade back when our opinion differs from another. And it takes a whole lot of brave to overcome that.

I don’t like confrontation, like most people. I don’t avoid it completely, but if there’s a way around it, I’m all down for that. I’ve been described as diplomatic many times, which isn’t a bad attribute. I can separate my emotions from a situation and dominate Mock United Nations like a boss.

shrink back

But, seriously, sometimes I think my tendency to be diplomatic is just an excuse to shrink back.

To avoid offending.

And even though it seems like a natural tendency, I don’t believe we are made to live like that.

“We are not of those who shrink back.” –the Bridge

In late summer, my church did a sermon series on being “something different”. All about being different in a world that is searching for hope. And each week, a video played about my church’s mission and what we hope to see happen in my hometown. And the one sentence that still bounces around my brain from that video is this: We are not of those who shrink back.

God created us to worship. To love. To live life.

He didn’t create us to shrink back. Oh no. Rather, He called us to live a bold life in a world afraid of bold.

He didn’t call us to shrink back. He called us to be brave.

Yes, it’s scary. And yes, it’s hard. Some days we can only survive, and we shrink back and fall back. But when we lean into God, we learn the value of not shrinking back. We see the power of living bold. And we understand how our decision to be brave can have a profound impact on those around us.

Because we are not of those who shrink back.

-Jen


This post is part of my #write31days series for 2015: Living Brave. Each day in October, I will be posting about living brave and what that looks like in everyday life. Curious about 31 Days? Check out the website and the hundreds of other bloggers joining in this year: 31 Days.

2 thoughts on “We Are Not of Those Who Shrink Back {#write31days}

  1. I’m starting to think that anyone who publicly talks (whether a speech / protest, blog, video posted online, interview, etc) about a policy issue that they have no clue what thr1;#82y7&ee talking about should face a fine, say $250 per infraction. I addition, any politician that supports legislation that they do not understand or proposes a law that is in violation of the Constitution should face a maximum of a $250,000 fine and up to 5 years in prison.

Leave a Reply

