31 Days · Intentional Living

Community of Brave {#write31days}

Brave isn’t something we have to do on our own. In fact, it isn’t something we can do alone. While courage resides within us, it usually takes some sort of community to bring it forth. Whether it’s whispering a dream to a best friend, asking for prayers from your faith community, or simply receiving encouragement from someone, community is key to bravery.

community of brave

Community builds us up, and when we are built up again and again, it becomes easier to lean into bravery. We know people are walking alongside us, ready to catch us and hold us up when things get rough.

[bctt tweet=”Brave isn’t something we have to do on our own. “]

Community takes these seeds of bravery and careful tends them, allowing them to grow stronger roots.

“Bravery and belonging go hand in hand.” Annie F. Downs, Let’s All Be Brave

And when we live in community, we see beautiful examples of bravery that inspire us to be brave. Remember, brave inspires brave. And one brave decision by someone in your community will encourage you to embrace brave more than you ever could on your own.

My faith community’s tagline is “we journey together”, and I love it because each time I hear it, I remember that I’m not alone. No matter what the world is telling me, or what my feelings are telling me, I have a who community that is journeying together with me. And all I have to do is reach out to be held, encouraged, and lifted up.

The reality is that we are all asked to be brave at some point, and those people around you have been in your shoes, will be in your shoes, or perhaps are in your shoes right now, battling the same fears and insecurities that are standing at your doorstep.

My brave may not look like your brave. In fact, it probably wonโ€™t.” –Kaitlyn Bouchillon, Brilliant Writer and Queso Lover

And your decision to be brave?

[bctt tweet=”It’s going to inspire others to be brave too.”]

“You can live your life in a small radius and have a big impact.” -Alan Briggs,ย Staying is the New Going

It’s a ripple effect that has unknown power, radiating about you in surprising ways.

-Jen


This post is part of my #write31days series for 2015: Living Brave. Each day in October, I will be posting about living brave and what that looks like in everyday life. Curious about 31 Days? Check out the website and the hundreds of other bloggers joining in this year: 31 Days.

20 thoughts on “Community of Brave {#write31days}

  1. Amen, community, being known and seen and cheered on, such an important part of stepping into brave. Thanks for the reminder “we don’t have to do it alone”

  2. I’m one that enters “community” with a bit fear, will I be good enough, will they like me? But here I am, in a writing community that’s helping me be brave! yay

  3. Two of my favorite words are in your post: Brave and community. My 31 Day Writing series is on community and I just attended a women’s conference called “Be Brave”!!!! Loved every bit of this!!!!

    1. I’ve tried being a Lone Ranger Christian…and I suppose it’s possible…maybe. But it’s just so so so hard. We are made for community!

    1. Thank you Tammy…I pray God replaces your anxiety with peace, because I firmly believe He has made you to be brave. So rest in that!

Leave a Reply

