31 Days · Intentional Living

Living Counter-Cultural

I’m going to let you in on a little secret: our culture is messed up.

Maybe you already knew that. But as Americans, we living in a crazy-busy society. One with filled-to-bursting schedules, self-focused activities, and the ruthless accumulation of more. A society of always trying to grow bigger and better, at any cost.

And truth be told, it’s exhausting.

Nor is it the way God wants us to live.

As Christians, we have to learn to live counter-cultural. Because our culture values the “me me me” things of life, but Jesus was completely the opposite. He modeled a smaller lifestyle. One filled with intimate dinners with friends, Sabbaths, and giving away. A life filled with encouraging others, being intentional, and making everyone feel valued.

Live Counter-Cultural

The first century church wasn’t one filled with comfy seats, large auditoriums, and stuffy clothes, but rather filled with open homes, giving away, and intentional relationships.

Can you imagine if our own culture was that way? If, instead of fighting tooth-and-nail at work, you had open conversations with your coworkers and knew their hearts? Or when you were feeling down, people didn’t settle for the “I’m fine” response and dropped everything they were doing to simply listen? If we simply gave ourselves permission to rest?

Maybe you already have a few friends that live counter-cultural. That’s amazing! ¬†Treasure them.

The thing is, living counter-cultural takes a lot of brave.

[bctt tweet=”Because when you start to slow down and live intentionally, people will notice.”]

And since it goes against our culture, they may judge you. Maybe they’ll be thinking, “Oh, wouldn’t it be nice to spend an evening at home with the kids, playing games? Wonder what it would be like to not be busy!” But it’ll be sarcastic. It’s so far outside our cultural norms that some people just can’t understand it.

Because we wear our busyness like a badge, and when someone steps away from the crazy-busy life, our society judges.

Hold onto brave, because living counter-cultural is worth it. Living a weird life is vital in our society. Because when we turn away from the crazy-busy, me-focused, always-bigger mentality, we find something beautiful.

Peace. Joy. Rest. True friendships. Small moments. Simplicity. You find a vibrant life, even though it might look a little slower and smaller than before.

And when you take that brave step to live counter-cultural, you encourage others to do the same. Remember, brave inspires brave.

-Jen


This post is part of my #write31days series for 2015: Living Brave. Each day in October, I will be posting about living brave and what that looks like in everyday life. Curious about 31 Days? Check out the website and the hundreds of other bloggers joining in this year: 31 Days.

8 thoughts on “Living Counter-Cultural

  1. Thanks Jen for these amazing words; great reminder to focus on what’s important. I try to live like this making time for others, but I only open up to those closest to me about my own struggles. “I’m not too bad” is my usual answer to how are you; it’s not an I’m fine, but it saves me going into details.

  2. Great post, Jen! This is the second thing I’ve read today about purposely slowing down … There have been lots of times our family was “that family” … who did slow down and have quality family time … I don’t know if we were “judged” for it, but I sure felt it. Great encouragement for living counter-cultural!

  3. I love this! We are definitely a messed up society and it is true we wear the term “busy” like it was a badge.

    I’m trying to figure out how to slow down in my own life. I know one thing, I’m not going to be so quick to volunteer for things!

  4. I TOTALLY AGREE!! Our culture is just so messed up. We care more about the companies we work for than our own friends and family. People think it’s no big deal to be flaky or so busy that they get burned out.

    I kind of wrote about this in my post that will get published tomorrow. It’s really annoying IMO I’d rather be boring and low key but intentional than always super busy and flaky.

  5. I am so glad you went there! Living against the mainstream and sowing others how productive you can be wile doing it is a beautiful example of living for God. It is truly brave to take that step toward going against the grain but it is so worth it. Thank you for your words! I love how our series have similarities as well as differences! If you check out Day 10 you can read Holly’s words.

Leave a Reply

