31 Days · Intentional Living

At the Edge {#write31days}

I stood at the edge, my toes lined up against the harsh horizontal line in front of me, separating me from open space. I barely had a moment to register the gorge gaping wide in front of me before the guide started counting down quickly… “5, 4, 3, 2, 1!”

I bent my knees slightly, pushed off, and plunged into empty space. Falling, falling, falling…

Unable to breath, wide rushed passed my face as I free fell for 7 seconds before the bungee cords gently started to stretch, slowing me down and yanking me up and down for a minute. I hung there, limp and unable to coordinate my limbs into anything remotely graceful, filled with adrenaline and trying to catch my breath as I guide came down and hauled me back up to the Bloukrans Bridge, at that time, the world’s highest bungee.

I’ve never been afraid of heights, and I had no reservations about bungee jumping whatsoever. Until I stood at that edge and looked at the gaping emptiness, a trickle of a stream meandering through rocks several hundred feet below me. But at that point, standing on the edge, I knew I had no choice to jump.

Partially because I had seen the guides push anyone who showed the slightest hesitation. 🙂

But mostly because I had 100% committed to that point, and I knew if I allowed my temporary fears to gain control at that time, I would regret backing down.

How often do we face this same situation in our everyday life? We’ve fully committed something…a project, a goal, a trip, etc. And then that crucial moment comes when you know it’s your last chance to get out, and the fears and uncertainties become overwhelming.

Jump

I’m sure I’m not the only ones who faced this, and not just starting on a bridge with a bungee cord attached.

Sometimes, we need to push aside our fears and realize that we aren’t in life alone. We have friends, family, coworkers, strangers on the street, and God rooting for us. We have our own bungee cord. But let me tell you something: [bctt tweet=”When  you’re standing on the edge, you can’t see the bungee. You can only see the leap.”]

Don’t forget about the bungee. Because you aren’t doing life alone, not matter how you feel in the moment.

And sometimes we just need someone to push us off the ledge, when our fears become paralyzing and we can’t move one way or the other. Sometimes the same people who serve as your bungee cord will be the ones who push you onward. Not to be mean, but because they know that is the direction you need to be headed in.

I will never regret bungee jumping. It was a terrifying, wonderful experience that I would repeat in a heartbeat. And the times in life when I’ve jumped off the proverbial ledge in faith? I don’t regret those either. It doesn’t mean things went smoothly and everything was wonderful. It just means that the good outweighed the bad, and being stretched and challenged was worth it.

And never forget the bungee cord: the people you can’t see who are right there with you, cheering you along and sometimes pushing you forward. Because after you’ve jumped, they’ll be there holding up and celebrating with you.

-Jen


This post is part of my #write31days series for 2015: Living Brave. Each day in October, I will be posting about living brave and what that looks like in everyday life. Curious about 31 Days? Check out the website and the hundreds of other bloggers joining in this year: 31 Days.

22 thoughts on “At the Edge {#write31days}

  1. Great post! Jump but don’t forget the bungee! I’m not a jumper, by nature, I like to think things through first. I’m so grateful I always have Someone who is my bungee cord for when I do take that leap!

    1. It is definitely comforting to know someone is there for us when we jump. Even for those of us who are jumpers! 🙂

  2. Oh girl, I am terrified of heights! But, what a great analogy. I have made several leaps in my life lately, and I didn’t crash into the tiny creek below lol.

    1. I’m so glad you didn’t crash! And clearly you are getting better at leaping…whether you wanted to or not!

  3. Yes! Our heavenly Father is the safety harness and we have so many people who surround us, hold us up and keep us in ways we might never know. I need to remember this next time God calls me to be brave (because sometimes I’m afraid to commit at all…)

  4. Great writing! — I could picture everything! What a wonderful analogy to being fully committed. I think I let fear keep me on the ledge sometimes. I need to remember the bungee cord.

    1. Thank you Robyn! Fear has definitely kept me on the ledge before. That’s why sometimes we need people to push. 🙂

  5. Jumping off with a parachute or bungee is a good thing…I’ve done a tandem bungee jump long ago, but I would like to sky dive some day. It is a trust and commitment thing for sure. Lovely post! Have a fun Friday! Jenn

  6. Love! And THIS: “And sometimes we just need someone to push us off the ledge, when our fears become paralyzing and we can’t move one way or the other. Sometimes the same people who serve as your bungee cord will be the ones who push you onward. Not to be mean, but because they know that is the direction you need to be headed in.”

  7. Love the analogy!! I want to skydive someday. 🙂 I think that would actually be easier than some of the “little” brave things God calls us to in the day-to-day.

Leave a Reply

