31 Days · Intentional Living

Living Brave {#write31days}

I wouldn’t consider myself a brave person.

I’ve done some unconventional things in life, things which some people would consider brave. But sometimes a decision to embrace big changes takes less bravery than a decision to live well where you are. Bravery looks different for everyone, and my brave might be your normal.

One thing that I think we all have in common is that at some point, we are given the chance to be brave and step wildly outside our comfort zone, or to turn and walk away. And if we take the brave choice, we won’t regret it. But these decisions look wildly different for each person.

[bctt tweet=”Your brave decision isn’t my brave decision.”]

Because when we risk it, God shows up big. Whether it’s a big decision or a small one, He works in unexpected and incredible ways through our decisions to be brave. And while being brave involves risk and leaves room for failure, it also allows God to work through you and do more than you could ever imagine.

Living Brave 1

Like I said, I don’t consider myself a brave person. I’ve said “no” more times than I care to admit, and I’ve allowed myself to remain comfortable when I should’ve embraced the uncomfortable. But writing this 31 Days series on Living Brave was one of those “yes” decisions that I tried so hard to say “no” to more than once.

And so, together we journey through these 31 Days of Living Brave, looking chances taken, opportunities missed, and how we can muster up the courage to be brave.

I hope, through all of this, perhaps you’ll think about a decision God is calling you to make. One which calls you to be brave. And I pray you find the courage to make the right decision, whether it’s to move halfway around the world, and send down deep roots to stay where you are.

Be brave, friends.

What does brave look like to you?

-Jen


This post is part of my #write31days series for 2015: Living Brave. Each day in October, I will be posting about living brave and what that looks like in everyday life. Curious about 31 Days? Check out the website and the hundreds of other bloggers joining in this year: 31 Days.

 

14 thoughts on “Living Brave {#write31days}

    1. Oh Karrilee…I don’t know! But I’m trying to stay faithful and write what I need to write. What He wants me to write.

      You know, that’s SCARY! 🙂

  1. I love this friend! Being that “brave” is my word for the year I have a feeling God is calling me to read and journey along with you. I think God is calling me to do something brave too. I just haven’t had the courage to make that first step yet. Love you friend! And thank you for being brave!

    1. It can take awhile to make that step. But I fully believe that someday you’ll make it, and you’ll never look back!

  2. Jen, I never saw the address to your site til now. Faithmustardseed.com. I name my 31 day journey “watering my mustard seed of faith.” So, your words meant so much to me, for that is where I am. This is also what God is teaching me…that bravery is often to live well where I am. Yep. Walking in the valley is harder than living on top of the mountain! Thanks girl ! Praying for you in these 31 days.

  3. Brave to me is admitting what you are afraid of, but stepping out and doing it anyway. Brave is making the decision to live comparison free and loving everything about yourself (flaws and all). Jen, we are writing on the same topic this #write31days challenge; and, I hope we can motivate each other on finding our brave!

    1. You’ve nailed it! And I’m looking forward to seeing what you’re writing about “brave” as well. Super awesome! 🙂

  4. I appreciate that you pointed out that my brave doesn’t look like your brave, and your brave doesn’t look like someone else’s brave. We’re all different and called to different steps of faith at different moments. No competition or comparison!

Leave a Reply

