Five Minute Friday

Celebrate Together {Five Minute Friday}

It’s Five Minute Friday time, when I gather with other writers from all corners of the globe as we write together, for just five minutes, on a common prompt. When we put away the inner editor and just let the words flow. Our gracious hostess, Kate, has all the details on her blog, as well as the link up so YOU can join in!

Today’s prompt is: Celebrate!


Go.

I work with some pretty cool people. I’m blessed to not only have a job I love, but to also work with some amazing ladies (and one guy). We look for pretty much any chance to celebrate: birthdays, retirements, new houses, going-aways, holidays…really, anything.

For example, we had a jewelry making party this week in honor of two coworkers who are leaving (*sniff sniff*), one who is blessed to become a stay-at-home momma, and one who is retiring.

Necklace I made at the party
Necklace I made at the party

We love to celebrate, both the big moments and the small. When I bought my house this summer, I had coworkers present me with a gift card, offers to help paint, an offer for a puppy or two, and eventually offers to TP my house when I’m in Cambodia this fall (which I am trying to convince them is NOT necessary). We might be a little strange, but we have a blast each day.

Whether we’re gathering together to cook a crockpot lunch on a Tuesday, or whether we’re planning a New Year’s Eve game night. We have friendships that go deeper than the normal coworker bonds.

Goofy eggplant from the garden, which we decorated at the office.
Goofy eggplant from the garden, which we decorated at the office.

To be surrounded at work by people who will build me up, celebrate with me, listen to me rant, and play endless pranks of me (after I prank them, usually)…it’s great. And to be able to celebrate their joys and support them through the harder times makes our bond stronger.

It’s a bittersweet time now, as two of my coworkers are leaving and change looms on the horizon. I fear the office dynamic will change with the addition of new staff. And yet, at the same time, I can’t help but celebrate that they are moving on to new adventures.

Just as I know they could celebrate with me.

Stop.

-Jen

 

24 thoughts on “Celebrate Together {Five Minute Friday}

  1. Sounds like such a gift to be able to work in that environment, Jen! So lovely. I’m sure even this season of change will bring new reasons to celebrate as well. πŸ™‚

    1. It is a huge blessing! I’m hoping the changes isn’t too drastic, but if it is, I’ve got #GirlMeetsChange to help me along! πŸ™‚

  2. First, congrats to the new mama and the lady retiring!! Those are awesome things to celebrate!! Second, I really hope they don’t TP your house after all the work you put in πŸ˜‰ Your job has always sounded like such a blessing. You get to help kids make healthier choices and have fun while in the office. I know it may not be where you thought you would be, but God definitely works through you with your work!! Everyone who you touch is blessed to have had the opportunity to know you! Keep it up friend, you are an amazing person and there are so many more things to celebrate just around the corner!!

  3. What a fun work environment! I often don’t take the time to celebrate with my co-workers because we’re all so busy and so…around each other all the time (we all live on campus of the school I work at). But I think a little more celebration is in order! Thanks for the inspiration :).

  4. Jen,
    your job does sound like fun! I really like the necklace you designed, too! πŸ™‚ Changing staff is always bittersweet, and yet, you are such a blessing and joy that I know you’ll welcome in the new ones and cause them to feel community. Blessings on you this week!
    Sincerely,
    Tammy
    (tammysincerity)
    (#5 at the linkup this week)

    1. Thanks Tammy! I love the necklace (and matching bracelet) as well. And yes, change is bittersweet. I am just praying we find the right person that wants to be part of our crazy little community!

  5. Jen, your office sounds like such a cool place to work. I would totally work with you. Any reason to celebrate…I love that thinking! πŸ™‚ I am parked in the #6 spot this week.

  6. WHAT?! You’re going to Cambodia?! How did I not know this?! I am glad I stopped by your blog today. Where in the world is Cambodia? Seriously…Africa, but what part? I’ve got to wiki that next.

    I love celebrating with co-workers too! We have an office like that. I’m thankful for my job as well! God is so great to offer up work with funny eggplants! I saw that IG post earlier this week, and I loved that purple nose!

    Have a great weekend friend! Tiny house is shaping up beautiful! I’d love to come visit it one day! I’ve never been to Iowa! Jenn

    1. Oh Jenn, you crack me up! Cambodia is in Southeast Asia, and I’ll only be there for about 10 days. My church has been going over for a few years now, and I’m going along with 5 other people to serve at the YWAM center in Battambang, Cambodia.

  7. Your coworkers sound fantastic! I especially like the picture of the eggplant. πŸ™‚ And what great reasons to celebrate–SAHM and retirement. I hope the new hires will be able to jump in and enjoy the same camaraderie and fellowship as you have before.

    1. I know, it’s a sweet reason to celebrate, but sad too! But things must end for new beginnings, and I pray the Lord brings the right people to the job.

Leave a Reply

