Faith · Five Minute Friday

Unexpected Finds {Five Minute Friday}

It’s Five Minute Friday time, which means I join up with Kate and the other #FMFParty ladies to write together, for just 5 minutes, on a common prompt. All the lovely details and the linkup is at Kate’s place, so be sure to check it out!

Today’s word is: Find.


 

Go.

Sometimes you pick up things along the way, only to find that they fit you. That you wear them well. That this find feels as natural as taking a breath.

IMG_2522

These God-finds are things that we never strive for, but fit us perfectly.

No, I’m not talking about a cute jacket or a pretty necklace. I’m talking about those unexpected, unlooked for passions. The ones we never dreamed about, or were too afraid to dream of. For me, it is writing. For years I denied to myself that I enjoyed writing, and had a passion for it. I kept up a couple of travel blogs, but nothing more than that.

I couldn’t be a writer. People from small town Iowa aren’t writers, right?

It wasn’t until I kept my Peace Corps blog and eventually found the Five Minute Friday community that I began to understand the love I had for crafting words. And still, I avoided that title. That oh-so-scary title full of expectations and potential failure.

DSC_0180

Until one day, when I picked it up and found that it fit. And unexpected find in my journey of life, this title of writer. Something I never looked for, or necessarily wanted, but that couldn’t help but find me.

And even though it still scares me to say it, I know I am a writer.

No, I’m not published. Yes, I have one finished book draft and two I’m working on that I’m not ready to share. But I write, because it is part of my life, and a part I can’t keep away from.

 

Because when we find those unexpected things, and see they fit well, there is no going back, no matter how scary it is.

Stop.

-Jen

24 thoughts on “Unexpected Finds {Five Minute Friday}

  1. I hear you! I call myself a teacher, I’ve written three books (unpublished) and had a few stories/articles published, but I’m still not comfortable with the label ‘writer.’ But I am. Like a new outfit that’s not my usual style, I need to keep trying it on until I get used to it ;).

  2. Jen, I’m so glad I”m not the only one who’s struggled with that title. Our stories are similar. I wanted to be a writer for decades, but I always thought I wasn’t capable. Then, a story found me, and here I am, a few years later, working on my third book. God gives us gifts. I love when we find what He’s planted in our lives as part of who He made us to be. Keep writing!

    Visiting from FMF

    1. Perhaps I’ll have to have you give me some guidance. I just started a new piece of work, one which I feel totally, completely unqualified to write. But one that God is laying strongly on my heart. So I’m trying to swallow my fears and insecurities and write!

  3. You’re a writer. Writers wear their hearts on their sleeves, and question, each day, whether they’ve actually gone stark raving mad, thinking they could DO this.

    Well, that describes me, but I digress.

    You have the gift; the spark that brings a world to life.

    Write on.

  4. Write on, Jen! It’s amazing the things that God has dropped along our path for us to pick up and put on. Though we don’t always understand His vision, it’s always perfect.

    Keep on trusting & obeying, even when it doesn’t seem to make sense πŸ™‚

  5. Oh, Jen- YOU are a writer! I can so relate. I’m taking these words and placing them in my journal for later: “Because when we find those unexpected things, and see they fit well, there is no going back, no matter how scary it is.” I needed that, friend. Thanks for writing- keep it up – be brave!

  6. interesting how so many of us struggle with this, huh? I wonder why that is? I don’t struggle with other titles; but writer, YES. But we are “one, or many who writes”

  7. I get that, too. I loved to write when I was in school. I set it aside for years, though I edited reports and such while I was working. Blogging has brought me to rediscover how much I still love it.

    As for unexpected passions, I’ve found one of those this year, too. I was beyond surprised when someone asked me to try leading a Bible study, because it’s WAY out of my comfort zone. But I enjoyed it, and now I have the opportunity to do it on a regular basis. My sister said “I’ve always seen you as a teacher.” I still can’t identify with that label, though!

  8. Hey Jen. Loved your 5 minute words. Funny, I wrote about writing today too. Also have recently found that this writing shoe fits better than I expected it to. πŸ™‚ Fun to find this group!

  9. love that you are claiming ‘I am a writer’. I’m trying to get there. so awesome when we are gifted passions and gifts we never anticipated but are so blessed through πŸ˜‰

  10. That noose picture IS creepy ::s:hdder:hAnyuoodle – I am the same as you – I only wear make up for church, weddings, funerals and if I have to cover a blemish. My husband laughs at me because I hate wearing it so much that I will inevitably be putting it on in the car on the way to wherever we are going. It is usually powder, a little blush, mascara and lip gloss – I never got the hang of eyeshadow much to the chagrin of my daughters who wanted me to show them how to apply it. heeheeDo you have a recipe for that luscious looking bread on your blog? I must make this!

  11. die playmobile is leuk maar ik zie geen roe. dan zullen de kinderen heel braaf geweest zijn. Ik heb kleine kindjes en al een groter petekind en die laatste krijgt nog steeds een sinterklaasje bij mij. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

