Five Minute Friday · One Word 2015

Whether to Even Try {Five Minute Friday}

It’s Five Minute Friday time, when I gather with hundreds of women from around the world to write together on a common prompt. For just five minutes, without editing or backtracking. The time each week when we just let the words flow freely. Check it out at Kate’s place!


 

I’m gonna be honest with you, okay?

A lot of times I don’t even try.

Because I “know” I’m not _______ enough. Good enough, strong enough, talented enough, smart enough, influential enough…you name it, and I’ve probably told myself it. And this route? Oh friends, it’s the easy route.

DSC_0031

Trying leaves room for failure, and lots of it. Rejection. Chaos. Loss. Pain. Disappointment. Why choose the possibility of that when I can stay inside the comfy cocoon of “already doing” rather than the often uncomfortable reality of trying.

But then again,  risking it all and throwing myself whole-heartedly into something different…into trying…leaves the door open to infinite possibilities. Because we serve a BIG God whole delights in bringing miracles to moments both big and small. We serve a God who can take the most unlikely story and turn it into something unexpectedly beautiful.

So I stand here in the space between “stay-as-I-am” and “try-something-different”, both terrified and wonder-filled. Knowing that by myself, I can’t. But by the grace of an all-powerful God, I can.

So really, what is there to risk, why God has your back? There is no way to fail when God is standing by your side, directing your paths. And while in the chaos-inducing moments of change it may seem like all was for naught, in the end God redeems. He makes beautiful. And He makes the impossible not only possible, but shockingly likely.


 

Psst…next week is the first EVER #FMFRetreat! And I’m SO excited to meet up with the #FMFParty ladies I’ve been writing with for a couple of years. Fear not, if you can’t come. We’ll be doing a LIVE #FMFParty video chat on Thursday night! Don’t miss this super special #FMFParty video chat!

live video chat

-Jen

#oneword365
#oneword365
20 thoughts on “Whether to Even Try {Five Minute Friday}

  1. I love this! I, too, often find myself in-between. It’s good to be reminded that no trying is just a form of failure (to try). Failure isn’t half as scary as the expectation of failure!

  2. These words right here make me pause and say Hmmm! “So I stand here in the space between “stay-as-I-am” and “try-something-different”, both terrified and wonder-filled. Knowing that by myself, I can’t. But by the grace of an all-powerful God, I can.” Because with God we can do anything, right???

  3. Oh Jen!! So much this: ” We serve a God who can take the most unlikely story and turn it into something unexpectedly beautiful.” I’m parked in the #11 spot this week.

    1. Thanks Tara! 🙂 You know, “Let’s All Be Brave” has pushed me to try and say yes more and more. I know how much you LOVE that book!

  4. Jen, you had me at “alot of times I don’t even try”. I am the opposite. I ALWAYS try. I believe so much is possible that I take on too much, try to be too much, extend my internal self too wide. And I want to feel useful and purposeful without seeing the need for rest, for just being. Oh Jen, I wish we could mold both of our tendencies!

    1. Sometimes, especially at work, I am exactly like you! I take on WAY too much and push myself to the limit. But other times? Nope…I am too afraid to try.

    1. I’ll have to edit the women part out! I love that we get some male bloggers around in the #FMFParty space! 🙂

      And thanks for the encouragement. God is definitely on our side!

  5. Because we serve a BIG God whole delights in bringing miracles to moments both big and small. We serve a God who can take the most unlikely story and turn it into something unexpectedly beautiful. So thankful my God is delighting in plans I could never imagine. Joining you from FMF

    1. Thanks Debbie! I’m grateful for that as well. I look at where I am now and where I imagined I’d be, and it’s entirely different. But that’s ok.

  6. I love this quote by the great hockey player, Wayne Gretzky … “You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.”

    I tell myself that when I’m contemplating not even trying because I’m afraid of failing.

    We’ll never win if we don’t play the game!

    thanks for these encouraging words! Happy Friday to you! (Stopping by from FMF)

  7. Makes me think of that quote “What if I fall? But, oh my darling, what if you fly?” I know exactly how you feel – the fear of failure has been one that has plagued me for a long time. But God has gradually been nudging me to treat deeper, to believe Him for His leading and to be willing to risk a few falls – because well, what if we fly? Hugs, FMF friend.

  8. Fantastic and challenging and all the feels, my friend. Thank you for reminding me that I can try anything because God will always catch me if I fall!

  9. Honest? Yep, none of us try all the time. Sometimes it’s easier to give up than to press on. But God is big enough that even when we don’t try, we are in His hands.
    Trying not be be nervous at meeting some real honest to goodness writers next Friday 🙂
    Christy

Leave a Reply

