Five Minute Friday · One Word 2015

A Hope that Ebbs and Flows {Five Minute Friday}

It’s time for Five Minute Friday, where I gather with hundreds of other women from around the world who write together, for just five minutes, on one word. The time each week when we forsake our inner editor and let the words flow freely. Want to join in? Head on over to Kate’s place for the full details.

Go.

It ebbs and flows.

When I left South Africa in December 2013, it started me down a long, winding road. One full of a difficult recovery, scrambling to readjust to American life, and frantic to find a “real job”. And in the midst of all that was dealing with have my plans absolutely wiped away and trying to figure out my next steps.

It was as if the rug had been swept from beneath my feet, and I struggled to maintain hope through it all.

My heart knew it was all in God’s plans, but my head struggled to remember it. 

And over the course of the last year and a half, hope has ebbed and flowed. Some days it shone brightly, bringing excitement for what lie ahead. And other, it grew dim, leaving me wondering what in the world the future held. I don’t like uncertainty, and the past year and a half has been full of it.

But in the past few months, things have finally started to settle down. I see more clearly the Lord’s plan for me in the short term, and I pray to follow His plans for the long term. And with this peaceful season has come more hope. Unbridled hope. And truly unexpected hope.

It carries me forward to an uncertain future. One which is undoubtedly full of more uncertainly, lean times, and seasons and struggle and exhaustion. And yet, I’m hopeful because the Lord will bring me through.

Hope ebbs and flows, but it never disappears entirely. Because even in the roughest of times, we have hope in God’s love, which is always overflowing.

Stop.

As a side note, hope is actually my “one word” for 2015. While I haven’t written on it for awhile, the world has echoed through my mind throughout the year, as I watch this hope change and grow. I had no idea how this one word would transform my life in just 6 months…we’ll see what happens the rest of the year!

#oneword365
#oneword365

-Jen

8 thoughts on “A Hope that Ebbs and Flows {Five Minute Friday}

  1. Oh Jen. I see so much of my own story in your words. thank you for sharing. The ebb and flow of it seems so inconstant and yet its not. there is a plan. So thankful that HE knows what will come and holds us up through it all.

  2. Your post reminds me so much of Jeremiah 29:11. Hope does indeed ebb and flow, but God knows. God is the one who can bring and offer us unexpected hope.

  3. I so get this: My heart knew it was all in God’s plans, but my head struggled to remember it. As I walked through one of the most difficult years of my life, I knew God knew about it, and was working it all out according to His plan, but my head….oh, my head. Sometimes the greatest struggles we face lie in the region between our ears. So thankful that Jesus knows and showers us with grace in those moments. Stopping by from #FMFparty.

  4. Love this: “Hope ebbs and flows, but it never disappears entirely.” So grateful that it doesn’t disappear! I’ve been there with hope disappointed and some days still live there. But I’m so grateful for the truth that we can always hope in Him and always trust in that hope. Much love!

Leave a Reply

