Faith · Five Minute Friday

Hidden Within {Five Minute Friday}

It’s time for Five Minute Friday, where I gather with hundreds of other women and write, together. Not just on a word, but as a community. Freely, for only 5 minutes.

Today’s word is: Hide.

Go.


 

I don’t like to admit it, though it’s ever present in my mind most days. I put on a brave face, stuff it back down deep inside, trying to pretend it doesn’t exist. All the while, it beats deep in my heart. Hidden, but present.

That I’m not enough.

My voice doesn’t matter.

My words have an impact.

It drums on me, day after day. An unwanted rhytym clashing against my hopes and dreams, beating them down. And I get tired of fighting against the flow. I find myself ready to give in.

And some days…many days, the fears and insecurities win out. I hide away my dreams, afraid others will find out. Scoff. Tear me down with incredulous words and glances.

I hide my words away, afraid to dole them out for the world to see. Instead of reaching out, I reach within, shoving back the things that yearn to burst out into the world. Unable to shake off the voices that tell me I can’t.

Because there is One that says I can. That says “Trust in me.” That says not to fear His dreams for me.

There is One who says not to hide from a brilliant future, but run towards it with an open heart, regardless of the bumps and bruises I’ll find along the way.

And yet, the familiar insecurities lap at my feet, and the tide starts to come in again. Ready to wear me down, to see my dreams hidden again.

Stop.


 

This isn’t meant to be a “woe-is-me” post, but rather a “hey, this is real life” post. I’ve been challenged lately to be brave and let my words out. Though I’d much rather these feelings of inadequacy remain hidden, it’s time they find their way into the light.


 

Registration for the first ever Five Minute Friday Retreat IS OPEN! Check it outright here! 

Click here for more details about the retreat, and click here for ticket info on the registration form. Kate’s blog is full of information about the retreat!

Here are the basic details:

Tickets for the whole retreat are $180.

This includes two nights of accommodation, Friday dinner, Saturday breakfast, Saturday lunch, and Sunday breakfast. Cost of transportation and Saturday dinner are not included in the ticket price.

Tickets for Saturday only are $45. Day visitors are welcome from 9:30am-4pm on Saturday.

The day visit ticket includes a morning discussion, a special presentation, lunch, and an afternoon session.

There are 25 retreat tickets and 10 day visitor tickets available. Tickets will be sold on a first come, first served basis.

** No refunds are available for cancellations. You may sell your own ticket to another person if you purchase a ticket and are unable to attend.**

Registration information can be found here!

FMF-Retreat-2015-logo--600x600

 

Also…exciting news! We’ve gotten a sponsor for the #fmfretreat! ViBella Jewelry will be sponsoring part of the retreat, and will be doing a fun presentation/activity. This company is AMAZING! It uses recycled material to make BEAUTIFUL jewelry, which support local artisans in Haiti and Mexico. We are thrilled to work with them during the retreat, and hear more about the wonderful things they do. Check out more of their story here!

logo

38 thoughts on “Hidden Within {Five Minute Friday}

    1. Thank you Kate! This is why I love this community, being open and vulnerable is only met with encouragement and love!

  1. Jen, such a good post! I feel some of those same things. I’m having to face my fears in this season and lean into what God has said to me… What He is telling me to do. 🙂 I’m learning to trust.

    1. Thank you Tasha! I don’t know why it’s so hard to trust the God who spoke the world out of nothingness, but it is. We’ll just have to stand alongside one another and trust!

  2. We all have days when the deceiver batters at our hearts. I’ll be praying for you! Your dreams are God-given and God-sized–you ain’t got time for that deceiver junk!

    1. Thank you Anita! I appreciate your prayers…you’re right, ain’t nobody got time for that! Yet I fall into it far too often, wasting time in brain-space that i have no business dwelling in.

  3. Ah, Jen. There are times when I think we share the same brain.

    I’m glad you let your words out. The world would be missing something special indeed if you kept silent.

  4. Jen- you are so brave, my friend! And your words and your dreams and your heart matter so much!! I am blessed to know you in this space. The light chases out the darkness, so let that darkness run!

    1. Our pastor spoke on much the same thing last weekend, and it’s been weighing on my heart so much lately. Why do I allow the darkness and the naysayers in so often? Because when God has a dream for you, there’s no doubt that He can make it work out!

  5. Jen, wow! Totally can see how you were pushed to write this. I know what you mean. Somedays it is so easy to keep everything hidden but God calls us to trust and share our words, doesn’t he?

    1. Yeah, I’d like others to think I’m confident and secure in my passions. But really? Nope. And it’s unfair to pretend otherwise, though I often do!

  6. Oh I love it! Please don’t hide your words. Continue to let them out. Continue to take leaps of faith! He has great plans for you! Plans for good! To prosper you, not to harm you! To give you a hope and a future!

    1. Thank you Stephanie! I keep reminding myself of that, but in the crazy of everyday life, I sometimes lose sight of it. Thank you for the reminder!

    1. I loved your “Hey this is real life” post! I personally think they are the best sort of post, but terribly scary to publish, right?

  7. Hi there, Jen! May the Lord continue to strengthen your heart and make you brave to let those words out. We can all relate to wanting to hide. 🙂 Let’s run towards the future with open hearts. Blessings!

    1. I love that… Yes, let’s do that! We must run together, and encourage one another through this beautiful community!

  8. I feel the same! God does reassure us…and FMF is here to cheer you and me on! Our words DO matrer. YOU matter to Him and us! So many words swirl in our world. I am that for His Word and positive blogs that authetically reveal the struggles and the supreme joy of life! Write on. ♡ jenn

    1. Thank you Jennifer. These are words I need to hear. That many, many women need to hear! Thank you for writing them.

  9. Very familiar thoughts…So glad you decided to be brave! There’s freedom in telling your stories and incredible power – you never know until you see it mirrored in someone else’s life! Happy Friday, friend!

    1. Thank you Katha! You are a HUGE encouragement to me today! So true too, freedom can be found in vulnerability and scary sharing of things.

  10. I find I often hide away behind my own insecurities yet when I open up and let those fears fall away I find His peace and strength.

    Thanks for these encouraging words!

  11. Oh boy, can I relate. I know those same fears and inadequacies that seem to plague us who have dared to lay ourselves bare before the world. The enemy tries to sell me those lies all. the. time. I’ve battled with them to the point of exhaustion and it’s only been recently that I’ve truly embraced brave and pulled myself up – sometimes daily, sometimes in a moment – and out of the lies. Stand before your audience of One and believe that you matter to Him and that is all that matters. That He empowers and equips what you do (your voice & words) with a purpose you might never get to see, but that He not only sees, but has uniquely designed for you. You are not only enough you are more than enough – keep being brave, friend. I will, if you will – we’ll do it together! Hugs!!

    1. So much truth here. I just need to focus on that audience of One for sure. The rest of it falls away. It’s not about platforms and such, and oh how I know that. But I still fall into the trap of thinking I’m just not good enough, and don’t matter in this big world. But the reality is that we all matter to God, and we never need doubt it.

  12. I’m always amazed at how many of us there are who often feel afraid and insecure. It’s wonderful that we can find community with those who relate!

    You are not alone.

    1. Thank you so much, Amy! Real life posts are the best type of posts to me, as they encourage me so much. Real life is always better than a perfect non-reality.

  13. I love the challenge you are feeling to be brave! I can feel the same thing on so many levels right now. Dream big, be brave and let go so God can catch you when needed and move you onward always.

    It sounds like maybe you finished reading “Let’s All Be Brave”??? Did you? I am almost finished and have been loving every bit of that book.

Leave a Reply

