Five Minute Friday · Intentional Living

When a Visit Recharges {Five Minute Friday}

It’s Friday, which means it’s time for Five Minute Friday and the wonderful Twitter community of #fmfparty. Where we gather together each week to write for five minutes only on a common word. Often where we stare at our computers for a moment, processing the prompt, and then let our fingers fly, writing from the heart.

To “meet” some of the other Five Minute Friday ladies and see their posts, check out Kate’s blog. I promise, you won’t regret it! Plus, there’s a great video interview with one of the FMF ladies, Katie! I highly encourage you check it out!


Β Visit

Sometimes all you need is a short visit to recharge.

I know when I lived abroad, this proved to be incredibly true. Even a lunch in town or a one night stay with another volunteer would pump up my spirits, quell my homesickness, and refocus my energy. Nothing elaborate. No fancy meals, extensive plans, or detailed agendas. Man, we didn’t even have flush toilets!

We just enjoyed the company.

How easy it is to forget that!

I’ve been part of the #fmfparty community on Twitter for over a year now, and writing with the Five Minute Friday ladies for even longer. Though I’ve never met these ladies, they have become friends, encouragers, and cheerleaders. Each week when we gather for a few hours on Twitter, it’s like sitting in a friend’s living room, talking the night away. It recharges. They lift me up when I’m struggling and ALWAYS make me laugh!

So when I had the chance to meet up with another Five Minute Friday writer, I was thrilled. Julie lives relatively close, just a few hours away. And last weekend, I happened to be in her area for a training. And so we made plans to grab dinner.

#fmfparty visit

And friends? It was like meeting someone who spoke the language of my heart. We ended up sitting for over two hours in the restaurant, and it seemed like mere minutes. Β It was wonderful to talk with someone else who understands the power of the written word and a community of like-minded ladies. I’ll never stop being amazed at the friendship forged through what I though was “just another group of bloggers.” But the #fmfparty community? It’s so much more.

-Jen

21 thoughts on “When a Visit Recharges {Five Minute Friday}

  1. It’s amazing to see two bloggers become friends in real life. Love the FMF love today, I’m sure there are other stories out there like this πŸ™‚ It’s hard to explain to people who don’t blog that you met a friend on the internet, but that’s okay. I have trouble explaining the concept of ‘blogging’ half the time anyway!

    Farin

  2. I have been totally amazed at the friendship & support I have found online. How wonderful for you (and Julie, I’m sure) to meet face to face. A short visit can so enrich our lives!

  3. It really is so much more! I can’t wait to neec some #fmfparty friends someday. Those are the best kind of friendships when you just get each other and it feels like you’ve bern friends forever!

  4. Hi there Jen! I just joined #fmfparty recently and am having so much fun.I was happy to see you met Julie. Read about it on her blog too. So fun! A short visit can energize us!

    1. I’m so glad you’ve joined us Betsy! Someday I’m sure you’ll have the chance to meet up with someone, which is awesome! πŸ˜‰

  5. Hey Jen! I loved reading your words here of our time together. They blessed me so! And you spoke the language of my heart too. I can’t wait to meet up again sometime soon. How far away are you from Pella?? Many blessings, friend!

    1. I can’t wait either! Pella…it’s soo close! I’m only 45 minutes away. Thinking of something? πŸ™‚ Also, that bike ride I mentioned is on May 2nd, the Ride with the Clowns.

  6. I am so excited that you were able to meet up in real life! I always want to attend to inRL and Allume things but it just isn’t feasible. It would be amazing to find a kindred spirit who is so close! Praise God for your meetup and for what will hopefully become an amazing real life friendship that lasts!!

Leave a Reply

