Five Minute Friday · Intentional Living

Keep Sight on the Important Things

I’ve been thinking lately about purging. Getting rid of things. What do I really need to keep?

I’ve been thinking about this thing called a tiny house. And how much I would really love to have one. Because it would force me to keep things to a minimum. I couldn’t fill space with endless things because there wouldn’t be space to fill. And I keep thinking how amazing that would be.

Keep Sight of What is Important

A house of about 250 square feet.

With room for everything I need, and much that I want.

I find that I cycle through periods of excess and periods of giving away. And when things are at a minimum, I am truly happy.

I need to keep friends. Family. Encouragement. Gratitude. Hope.

I don’t need to keep twenty shirt, ten pairs of jeans, and endless shoes and socks. Those do nothing for me in the end.

I need to keep the relationships and good times. Hold tightly to faith and love. Store up words of the Creator in my heart and fill my mind with joy.

Keep Sight on the Important Things

And so as I busy myself looking into the realities of building a tiny house, I look forward to a minimal life. One where material things don’t rule me. One where memories build happiness, and relationships build joy.

That’s what I want to keep.


It’s Five Minute Friday, and after a few weeks away during a crazy month, I’m joining up again with this amazing group of women as we write together, for five minutes. Check out Kate’s place for all the awesome details.

-Jen

19 thoughts on “Keep Sight on the Important Things

  1. I’m SO with you on this! I’ve been thinking lately about mental minimalism too. I’ve got so many thoughts swirling in my head that I just need to pare down and keep the ones that lead to Truth.

    But back to tiny houses… so much fun! πŸ™‚ I’d want to come visit you if you do get a tiny house.

  2. The problem I have with tiny houses is that I’m an introvert who loves people–so when they visit, I still like my space. Yeah. It doesn’t make much sense when I type it out in black and white. But you’re right–we don’t need all the stuff that we have. We do need Jesus and each other.

    1. I get what you’re saying. πŸ™‚ But at a tiny house, you’re less likely to have visitor hang around for days, so I wouldn’t need to much alone space.

  3. I only first heard about tiny houses last weekend. What a great concept. I’m with you. I tend to accumulate stuff. And so do my hubby and kids. I’m good at purging, but wouldn’t it be wonderful to know my balance and stick within it so I didn’t have to purge?

    And the mental space that would open up. I’m going to have to pray on this. Great post today!

    1. Thanks Jeanne! I definitely struggle with the balance between having things and needing to purge. I’m an impulse clearance buyer….so yesterday when I went to Target and only left with what I needed, despite the many sales, I was happy! πŸ˜‰ Baby steps!

  4. I’m with you on the clutter and stuff of life getting to be too much at times…LOVE this “keeping memories and relationships” Those really are the things worth keeping! Blessings on your tiny house journey…can’t wait to see how it unfolds

  5. Love your post. So many necessary lessons in there. [I also am drawn to the tiny house idea…I imagine one in a large plot of land, my littles roaming free and then us all coming back together in the evening, cuddling, cocooned]. {Your FMF friend}

    1. Yes! Exactly! Except, in my case without littles, at least for now. But wide open spaces to be outside, with a little cozy space to be inside.

  6. Amen and Amen! I love this Jen… this call to let go of all that can entangle and hold us back – to be free to keep all that really matters! Suddenly I feel the need to purge a bit myself! πŸ™‚

  7. There is something so freeing about getting rid of stuff. That being said, I’m a picture fanatic – I cannot through out pictures! So I need a little space with lots of book shelves, and then I’d be good! πŸ™‚

  8. Wow, Jen. I can relate. I have so much stuff I don’t need and often feel suffocated by it. I’ve been working on cutting back and am often surprised by how hard that can be for me.

Leave a Reply

