Five Minute Friday · One Word 2015

Those Unwelcome Things {Five Minute Friday}

Go.

It’s the start of a new year, when gym shoes are dusted off, resolutions are made, words are chosen, and closets are cleaned out. When we welcome new things into our lives. When we strive to become a better version of ourselves, at least a little better than we were last year. And so often, a few weeks down the road, it all comes unraveled.

Because as we welcome new, positive, life-changing things into our lives, we often welcome some old, not-so-good things to stay.

[Tweet “This year, I’m not welcoming a few things back.”]

Those “you aren’t good enoughs” and the “you’ve messed it up agains”. The insecurities and deep-in-my-heart worries. The negative thoughts and feelings of being inadequate that slowly take over and push all the good stuff out. Some things need to be unwelcome this year.

fog snow

And away goes the good intentions, joy, and hope

In comes feelings of letting others (and myself) down. Of being a failure. Of never being able to do what I want to do.

This year, the welcome mat is being hidden for those things. They won’t be allowed to stay. Because when we say “no” to all the negative things, we make room for the positives.

For good friends and evenings of laughter. And memories we would never want to forget.

Stop.

It’s time for Five Minute Friday, where hundreds of women gather to write together, on a common theme, without editing or backtracking. You can find out all the nitty-gritty-awesome details at Kate’s place, our gracious hostess!

-Jen

#oneword365
#oneword365
14 thoughts on “Those Unwelcome Things {Five Minute Friday}

  1. We just talked about that at my MOPS group – what were we going to leave behind in 2014 and what were we going to bring with us to the new year? It’s interesting thinking about intentionally leaving things behind – just as important as making resolutions, I think!

  2. Oh, this is so true. And something we often forget, I think. It’s not enough to form new good habits — we have to leave the bad ones behind!

    1. Thanks Bethany! I’m not good with resolutions, but I’m hoping to be able to say a few goodbyes to unwelcome things this year.

  3. A good friend of mine often asks me what I will replace it with, when I renounce a lie. I wondered that as I read the first few lines of this post. And then you went on to list all sorts of wonderful love and hope for the new year. Blessings upon you and your loved one in 2015!

  4. Hey Jen! What a great perspective to have on the New Year. There are definitely things I need to leave behind, and that’s patly what I’m doing through my Grace & Truth series this year. I’m SO ready to be done with some of these perpetual struggles.

Leave a Reply

