DIY · Simple Life

Homemade Mocha Cappuccino Gift-in-a-Jar

Are you wracking your brain for a last-minute gift idea for someone on your Christmas list? Don’t worry, we’ve all been there.

Are they a coffee lover? If so, I have the perfect idea for you, and it’s *not* a gift card!

This year, I was combing through a cookbook I found at a used book sale earlier this year, trying to find the perfect gift I could give to my coworkers. Since there are about a dozen people working in my office, I needed an easy, cute, gender-neutral idea that was cheap, but still useful. Because I really hate giving away things that aren’t useful! As I looked through this cookbook full of “Gifts in a Jar” recipes, I stumbled upon one that seemed perfected for my coworkers.

Chocolate and coffee. What could be better?

And so, after a quick trip to the grocery store (though you may well have all of these ingredients in your cupboard), I mixed up the Mocha Cappuccino Mix in a matter of minutes, poured it into some old jelly jars I hadn’t used to can this year, and tied up with a pretty ribbon and homemade tag, straight from the stamp room.

Seriously, it was easy to make, and all my coworkers were delighted.

Again, coffee and chocolate. A winning combination for most people!

So, if you’re desperate for a gift idea for those difficult-to-buy-for people, or just wanted a super cute (and budget-friendly) gift for a coworker, scroll down for the recipe. Including putting together the jars and gift tags, I was done in about an hour, most of that time spent making the tags.


 

mocha cappuccino

Mocha Cappuccino Mix

 3/4 cup powdered milk

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup instant coffee

6 tablespoons cocoa

Simply mix the ingredients together and store in an airtight jar. I used mason jelly jars, which looked adorable with a ribbon and some Christmas paper on the top.

To drink, mix 1-2 tablespoons of the cappuccino mix with 8 ounces of hot water and stir well. Add a sprig of mint and whipped cream to the cup for an extra-festive holiday treat!

Yield: 6 half-cup containers


 

-Jen

2 thoughts on “Homemade Mocha Cappuccino Gift-in-a-Jar

Leave a Reply

