Five Minute Friday · Intentional Living

Five Minute Friday: Prepare

Are you prepared for Christmas?

My presents are almost entirely bought, though nothing is wrapped. My trees is up and decorated, if you ignore that half strand that burnt out the day after I set the tree up. And my secret santa gifts are all planned out for next week at work.

But that’s not what I’m talking about.

IMG_2721

I’ve still got some heart work to do.

Adjusting to American holidays again has been hard. As much as I missed my family and our traditions when I lived abroad, I loved the low-key holidays, especially this time of year. It was easier to focus on what matters: family, friends, and Jesus.

Now, I struggle more to prepare my heart. As I journey through Advent this year, I find myself focusing more on the little baby…the whole reason behind this season.

[Tweet “As much as the HoHoHos and gift wrap try to take over, I find peace in the story behind Christmas.”]

In a Baby in a manger.

Each day, it’s a challenge to prepare my heart for Christmas. But I don’t want to find myself on Christmas morning, more worried about the gifts and food than the Savior who came to bring salvation.

IMG_0120

Stop.

How are you preparing your heart for Christmas this year? (Click the link to see what I wrote about this earlier in the week!)

-Jen

Linking up with Kate for the ever-wonderful Five Minute Fridays, where we gather together each week to write freely for five minutes. Check out all the fun here!

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Prepare

  1. I wholeheartedly agree with you! I have not, and probably will not, put up a tree this year for a whole host of reasons. I want, and need, my heart to be singularly focused on Jesus. I very much enjoyed your post! Grace and peace to you. #fmfparty

Leave a Reply

