Faith · Intentional Living

Thanksgiving for Dependence

I like to think of myself as a modern, independent woman who is capable of doing whatever I set my mind to.

In reality, I struggle to open my own water bottles. 🙂

But really, I’m not independent. I may try to be, but at some point, I always find myself in a place of great need, and I have to rely on others to help me through.

Yesterday I wrote on how that can be REALLY hard for me. I don’t like asking for help, and admitting I can’t do it. Even if it’s obvious things like being able to move a heavy dresser. Logic dictates that I can’t move it on my own, but I still don’t like to admit it.

[Tweet “My dependence challenges me to be a better person. @jen_daugherty”]

As hard and messy…and sometimes unpredictable as dependence can be, I am grateful for it. Being dependent on others and on God has help strengthen my faith and look to the One who can do it all.

I’m not gonna lie: It’s hard.

But in my dependence, I find vulnerability. And there, I find compassion for others in a similar place. And through compassion, I grow and learn to share God’s love with those around me. Dependence breaks my pride and brings me to a place where I can look to Him first for help.

Dependence brings me closer to my friends and family. And it turn, it helps me serve them better when they need a little help.

And even though our society idolizes the modern, single, independent woman…and I am not afraid to be independent in some ways…I am really grateful that I can be dependent on God when I need Him.

-Jen

 

One thought on “Thanksgiving for Dependence

  1. Oh yes. I get this struggle. Admitting I need help and showing my weakness is such a struggle! I agree, showing my dependance can push me to grow and be a better person, but that doesn’t mean I’m eager to do so.

Leave a Reply

