Intentional Living

Thanksgiving for Connectivity

Now, I know I just wrote about being over-connected on Friday, and the excessive use of technology is our very connected world, so bear with me.

Friends, overall, I’m thankful for connectivity. 

I sit here, in my little writing corner at home, pounding out words on my keyboard. Words which will be read by people thousands of miles away. It’s amazing, when you think about it. And just this morning, I facetimed with my 5 month old nephew, who lives several states away.

Our interconnected world is something to marvel at.

When I lived abroad, I was able to connect with people back home easily. Yes, I did write old-fashioned, snail mail letters. But I could also text, tweet, facebook, instagram, email, and phone call. On rare occasions, I could even Skype. How amazing it is to sit in Africa and see your family back home in Iowa?

Now, do we take it to an extreme? Oh yeah. Are we too connected at times? You bet we are. And do we miss out on things happening “inRL” (real life) because we’re glued to our screens? Yup.

Too much of a good thing is bad, after all.

But at the end of the day, I am grateful for the connectivity of our modern, internet driven world. There are friendships I simply wouldn’t have, or wouldn’t have maintained, without technology.

And even though it can detract from life, it can also enhance it.

So long as we don’t let it get out of control.


Just for fun, post below where you’re from (country, state, town…planet…whatever you feel comfortable with. How connected are we?

Straight at you from the cold, barren plains of Iowa!

-Jen

Leave a Reply

