Faith · Intentional Living

Thanksgiving for Grace

By happenstance, I read 2 Corinthians 4 today. It was something I saw posted on Facebook, and though it wasn’t part of a planned reading, I headed to the chapter.

IMG_2579

The day before, I had decided to do a mini-series on gratitude, in the week leading up to Thanksgiving. I had no idea what I would write on, but I figured I would find inspiration along the way.

“We know that God, who raised the Lord Jesus, will also raise us with Jesus and present us to himself together with you. All of this is for your benefit. And as God’s grace reaches more and more people, there will be great thanksgiving and God will receive more and more glory.” 2 Corinthians 4:14-15

It was like a great big ole light bulb went off above my heard.

What better to start off my mini-series of gratitude than by finding a grateful heart for God’s grace. ¬†Something that is given totally freely, without condition or expectation. Something that is never failing, and finds me anew each day.

Grace is truly a glorious, wondrous thing. It’s something that defies human nature. And yet, the more we experience and soak in God’s grace, the more we pass it along to others.

God does heart surgery on us, filling us with His grace, which we then can pass along to others.

And look at what happens when we pass along grace: others come to know God. And God receives all the glory.

And in heaven? Oh friends, when we pass along grace and help a hurting heart, there’s joy in heaven for even the littlest of actions.

Counting 1000 blessings in this month of Thanksgiving. #1000giftsin30
Counting 1000 blessings in this month of Thanksgiving. #1000giftsin30

Today I’m grateful for God’s grace, and I’m trying to be more aware of it. Am I always passing it along? Goodness, no. But through God, my heart is always changing, and I’m finding it becomes easier. As I dwell in His grace, I learn to invite others in as well.

One of the incredible parts of God’s grace is that He chooses (CHOOSES) to rain blessings down on us. Even when we’re complaining, or procrastinating. Gulp…or even avoiding Him. Think of a few things you’re grateful for today. Is it hard? What things would you miss if they were suddenly gone.

Lights. Insulation. Warm socks. The patter of little feet. Coffee. The ability to walk unaided.

Thanksgiving for the beauty of everyday.
Thanksgiving for the beauty of everyday.

Things that are “normal” to us are easy to ignore. But imagine life without them. The list of blessings could go on forever. Because through God, we are infinitely blessed.

Today I invite you to join me in writing about just a few of the blessings you noticed today. Leave a comment with something that hit you today…something that you maybe don’t always noticed, but are always blessed by.

For me, today, it’s the grace of the King of Glory.

-Jen

6 thoughts on “Thanksgiving for Grace

  1. There’s joy in heaven for even the littlest of things.
    Yes! Such great reminders as we’re headed into this holiday season. Today I’m thankful for sunshine, new friends, a fading cold, and a Saturday that I don’t have to go to work. And, for your beautiful post!

  2. Don’t you just love those lightbulb moments from the Lord? It’s still early in the day, but I can say that having my two littlest ones climb into bed with my husband and I this morning was a feeling I wouldn’t trade for anything. I was saying out loud how much I love my family. I do get frustrated and take it all for granted sometimes, but I am so blessed with a wonderful husband and children that the circumstances in our life right now do not have to be so discouraging.

  3. I’m thankful for birds–thousands and thousands of snow geese and Ross’s geese lifting off at sunrise in a cacophony of calls and flapping wings–just amazing. Add the background chorus of Sandhill Cranes and the high notes of the Black Phoebe and it’s a virtual symphony :).

  4. Today, as we were out and about in the cold, I was very thankful for hot tea and heaters to keep us warm. I love counting His gifts. It becomes addicting, doesn’t it? I love how the counting changes the way we see the world. Thanks so much for sharing this encouraging post with us! Blessings to you and yours this Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

