31 Days · Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Still

After the whirlwind of summer and the chaos of a new job description in fall, October came along with the madness of #write31days.

I remember those days in South Africa where I would sit and watch my floor dry after mopping, relishing a simpler, slower paced life.

The past 11 months, it’s been go go go. I’ve been back in the USA for nearly a year now, and like has returned to the busyness of American life. With it’s schedules and stress and general un-relaxed-ness.

This month, I’ve been hearing: Be still.

Rest.

Enjoy the calm moments.

Count the blessings.

So I’m writing a lot. I’m writing 33 “gifts” away day, part of #1000giftsin30. I’m remembering thankfulness. I’m spending more time breathing and less time running.

And it’s been much needed.

—–

It’s time for Five Minute Friday, where I join up with hundreds of other women who all write together, for five minutes, without editing. Head over to Kate’s place for the full details, and to join in!

-Jen

16 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Still

  1. Amen to slowing down! May we all continue to hear God’s voice in the midst of our busy and say “yes” when He says “come sit with me for awhile”. Great to see you tonight! Missed the #fmfparty but had to write when the word “still” came across my twitter feed. Happy almost weekend my friend!

  2. I’m so with you! I love your intentional plan for bringing rest into your schedule… the writing down of your gifts. It changes our perspective and our heart. … making it easier to be still and rest. Beautiful post!

    1. Writing down the gifts has helped a lot this month. There have been a few times where I’m been complaining a bit, and then remembered the blessings. I’ll pass 500 today!

  3. I think you’ve made it evident on how all of us need to be so intentional about slowing down. I almost lol’d at your comment about watching the floor dry. I remember doing this in college. Cleaning the house, mopping up the floor and then just kicking back in a chair with a good novel and a cup of tea to enjoy the end of my work. And now, it seems to just never end as I chase a toddler across that drying floor or help the older ones poor their juice so the floor doesn’t become covered in pulpy-stickiness.

    But I’m learning that “intentional” is key, slowing down is necessary and being still is where it’s at.

    So glad I visited today! 🙂

    1. Thanks Susan! Not sure I have anything…God’s just been hitting me again and again with this idea of stillness and gratitude.

  4. Hmm… maybe I should be still and hear what God is telling me right now. I know that I have allowed myself to stay distracted a lot lately. I think more down time would be great.

    1. Down time has helped me a lot. And it doesn’t have to be a lot. Just a few minutes throughout the day spent intentionally thinking about slowing down and being grateful.

Leave a Reply

