31 Days · Faith · Intentional Living

Embracing the Quiet

It’s been awhile, I know. After the craziness of posting every day in October, it’s been a little quieter on here. Not intentionally, though the quiet was what I needed the past few weeks.

That’s not to say I haven’t been writing. I have written. A lot! 22,000-words-in-9-days a lot. You see, I’m working on my second novel. No, I still haven’t published my first, but I’m getting closer.

This month has been full of counting 1,000 gifts in 30 days. And friends, that’s hard. And I thought it would get easier in time, but it isn’t. I’m only repeating a blessing if it’s particularly needed that day, which means I’m keeping my eyes open for 33 new gifts each day.

IMG_2513

But it’s opening my eyes to being grateful. Whether it’s for amazing coworkers, a delightful warm fall day, a breathtaking sunset, or a piece of chocolate. This year, I’m thankful. And at the end of the month, I’ll be celebrating Thanksgiving at home, with family, for the first time in 5 years. There’s a whole lot of be thankful for right there.

I ended October with many blog ideas and a schedule set up, excited to write. And then I started writing a novel. My internet was out. I had left my computer cord at my parents’ house. And so, it’s been quiet.

And you know what? I don’t regret it.

It’s too easy to get caught up in the blog world, worrying about SEO, traffic, page views, and specially designed images. And I started November intending to work on all “that stuff”.

[Tweet “And then God said “Rest”. Count those gifts. Find beauty everywhere.”]

Embrace the quiet.

-Jen

Linking up today with Holly over at Testimony Tuesday. Check out the fun here!
16 thoughts on “Embracing the Quiet

  1. Oh Jen, this is so refreshing. I love this. I’ve started making a list of 10 things each day. (30 is too many for my scattered brain, but maybe I should just carry my journal around with me?)

  2. I’ve started a list, too! Only I started late and my journal only has 25 lines per page ;). But you’re right–I thought I was pretty aware of the blessings and gifts around me, but when it comes to putting pen to paper, it’s harder than it seems! It’s a wonderful discipline, though :).

    1. Write really small? 😉

      I started a few days late, and just caught up. And it’s definitely more difficult than I thought…especially if I only write them down once or twice a day!

  3. Jen, reading this was exactly what I needed today! I am counting 1,000 gifts this month too. It really does keep us intentional with the gifts God is showering on us in unexpected places. Blessings!

  4. I’m glad you are resting in gratitude, Jen. It is a good place to be. I too am counting gifts more and finding myself a little more quiet this month. And whoo hoo on your novels. I can’t wait to read!

    1. Thanks Colleen! The focus on gratitude has been much needed, and a huge blessing!

      And I’m hoping to have an ebook ready in the next 3 months. We’ll see!

  5. I have written a 30 things I’m thankful for post scheduled for Thanksgiving and each day I find more things I could add. I am excited this year because we get to be home for both Christmas and Thanksgiving. We haven’t been home for Christmas in over 4 years.

    I hope your family has a wonderful Thanksgiving together. 🙂

    1. That’s awesome!! Last Christmas was my first Christmas home since 2010, and I’m excited for this first “real” family Thanksgiving since 2009. It’s been too long!

  6. I have no list, but I’m finding myself more aware of the blessings around me. I think, for me, it has to do with motherhood. As I point out the awesome things in our world, in our life, to my children, I’m reminded myself of what a BIG, GREAT God we serve!

  7. Yes to embracing the quiet! I believe that for many of us it would need to be a forced quiet in order for it to happen because we are not good at doing it on our own. Good to see you friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

