31 Days · africa · Five Minute Friday

#write31days {Trying Not to Expect}

It’s Day 22 of #write31days, and today I’m guest posting over at Kate Motaung’s place! So you can read a snippet of today’s post here, but for the full story, head on over to Kate’s place.


“Don’t have expectations.”

That was the main thing our trainers tried to teach us. Even before leaving the country, I was told time and time again not to have expectations.

What I expected
What I expected

But really, I don’t think that’s possible.

After two months of in-country training and bumbling through various awkward cultural differences with a host family, I found myself on a bus, heading out to the Kalahari Desert, where I would live for two years.

And though I really had no idea what to expect, somehow my brain still made up a few things…


Check out the rest of the story here!

Also, in case you didn’t know…Kate’s the host of the wonderful Five Minute Friday community. We’ve bonded over that and a love for South Africa. We are both writing on life in South Africa for our 31 Days series, and I’m excited to be sharing on her blog today!

So, head on over and check out her 31 Days series!

-Jen

#write31days
#write31days

 

5 thoughts on “#write31days {Trying Not to Expect}

  1. But isn’t it sometimes so hard to not have expectations and then get hurt because they weren’t fulfilled? I really have to learn to expect nothing in order to not get disappointed. Thank you for this reminder!

  2. Thanks for sharing, Jen! I guess that’s one of the most important lessons to learn, and we need a reminder over and over again. And yet I sometimes have to smile when God manages to surpass my expectations so many times…
    happy Wednesday to you! – Another fellow South Africa lover 🙂

  3. What a wonderful post! I am only just now finding your blog through the 31 Days group, but now I want to read the whole thing and find out all about your experience in South Africa! Thanks to you, I want to read Kate’s 31 Days too! 🙂 God bless you!

Leave a Reply

