Uncategorized

#write31days {Robots, Stoplights, and a Vlog}

So, contrary to the whole “write for 31 days” thing, I’m posting a vlog! I’m talking today about some of the adjustments I made when I moved to South Africa, and sharing a fairly hilarious story about robots and stoplights.

So, if you want to share any examples of you mixing up words in a “new” language, leave a comment! πŸ™‚

-Jen

#write31days
#write31days

In case you missed it…I’m holding a giveaway! Want to win a copy of Sarah Jake’s new book, Colliding with Destiny: Finding Hope in the Legacy of Ruth? Click over to this post to find out how!

13 thoughts on “#write31days {Robots, Stoplights, and a Vlog}

  1. I’m laughing out loud, only because I totally relate… My husband is from New England, and I’m from Georgia. There are STILL times one of us will say something to the other, and we have no idea what the other is saying. My favorite is when I told him to “put up the tent” at the end of our camping trip. Putting something up (to me) means to put something away. He just stared at me, incredulous. It was pretty funny πŸ™‚

    Loving the vlog this morning! Just the thought of putting a video of myself talking makes my palms sweat… You are brave! And you did a great job πŸ™‚

    1. Hehe I would have set the tent up again! πŸ˜€ It’s hilarious how even within the US, things can be sooooo different!

      And thanks for the encouragement, Kristin. When I started vlogging a month or two ago, I was terrified of it. But at some point, I stopped caring about the “ums” and the awkward faces, and just started talking. You should definitely try it sometime! πŸ˜€

  2. Hi there, what you call a cookie, we call a biscuit. What you call a biscuit, we call a scone. What you call a pancake, we call a crumpet. What we call a pancake, you call a crepe….and so the list goes on. I’m a South African (although living in Dubai at the moment) who lived in the States for a while so I understand your vlog entirely.
    Yes, the world may be small but that English, she is big.

    1. I always loved telling people that pancakes and waffles were breakfast foods in the USA! πŸ˜€ They thought we were just crazy!!

  3. I really enjoyed your vlog! I have to confess that I rarely watch videos all the way through, because I’m too impatient and can read much faster. But I watched yours until you shut off the camera.

    I haven’t lived in another country, but I once went to visit my sister who was living in Germany at the time. As we walked through the town I saw a sign with a German word that looked very much like “bakery.” I was ready to rush in. Very patiently my sister explained that they only made bread. If I wanted cake, we’d have to look for a Konditorei. It’s not as good as your stories!

  4. Now I want to know how you had to adjust to washing your hair, opening a car door and paying for things in a store! Funny stuff and fun to watch you tell it!

    1. As for the hair….I didn’t have running water, so I had to bucket bath. I just shaved my head! πŸ˜€

      And in many African cultures, you aren’t supposed to use your left hand for anything, like hand money to a cashier, etc. So even now, I feel “dirty” doing it! And car door? Don’t ever slam them shut on the bush taxis! They might fall off (didn’t happen to me, but it does happen!) πŸ˜€

  5. Our language is so funny. I live in Eastern Kentucky, and I think we have our own language!!! On the flip side, I’ve had students who have English as their second language, and it can be quite challenging. Thanks for sharing your perspective!

Leave a Reply

