31 Days · africa

#write31days {Five Minute Friday: Long}

Two years is a long time.

I thought hard about it when I said goodbye to my family in the airport, thinking I wouldn’t set foot on American soil for over two years (but I did). I thought about it on the looooong 16 hour flight across the Atlantic. And throughout the two months of training in South Africa, when I rarely had phone or internet access, I thought about it.

But then a funny thing happened.

100_1619

 

It was suddenly December, and I’d been away from home for nearly six months. And then July crept around and I was astounded to see I had been there a year. At the halfway point, I was flabbergasted.

And suddenly, time was running out. Rather than thinking “Oh, I have a whole year left!”, I started thinking “Oh, I only have a year left!”

And then I was at my close of service conference, saying goodbye to friends that had been on that loooong flight with me two years before.

Sometimes, it only seems like a long time.
Sometimes, it only seems like a long time.

I was saying goodbye because I had chosen to stay another year.

Because two years wasn’t long enough.

Sometimes, things seem impossible. Until we do them. And then they seem laughably possible, through God’s strength and grace.

292112_10151737587860237_256316211_n

 

When I grabbed my bag and walked away from my family to the airport security line in 2011, two years seemed impossibly long. I didn’t know if I would make it.

But then God stepped in with His strength, and I found myself thriving in a place I never expected to live.

-Jen

I’m joining up with the #FMFParty gals for Five Minute Friday, where we write for five minutes on one common theme. It’s a crazy flashmob of writers who let the words flow freely, without editing. Join the fun at Kate’s place!

#write31days
#write31days

In case you missed it…I’m holding a giveaway! Want to win a copy of Sarah Jake’s new book, Colliding with Destiny: Finding Hope in the Legacy of Ruth?Click over to this post to find out how!

 

22 thoughts on “#write31days {Five Minute Friday: Long}

  1. Love this line: “Sometimes, things seem impossible. Until we do them. And then they seem laughably possible, through God’s strength and grace.”

    This is a great encouragement! Thank you for your words!

  2. “Sometimes, things seem impossible. Until we do them. And then they seem laughably possible, through God’s strength and grace.” – Oh yes – so very true!! Thank God that He gives us strength to do things we can’t do on our own and then He gets the glory!

  3. I was going to call out the same sentence that others did. You’re right that sometimes things seem impossible until we do them. Afterward I just remind myself that only God’s grace would enable me to complete the task.

  4. “Sometimes, things seem impossible. Until we do them. And then they seem laughably possible, through God’s strength and grace.”

    This is a great quote! I love it.

  5. Yes, this is how it feels! Can so relate to that! Whenever I was overwhelmed with goodbyes and how fast time flies I always begin to wonder: Why does it take me so long to get into something new? Why don’t I jump right in if I already know that it’s over faster than I know…

  6. Hmmm… Well then, maybe this trial that I’m going through is not that long. What seems like forever to me is merely a blink to God. Thanks for this.

  7. Beautiful post! This is the line which spoke to me >>> “But then God stepped in with His strength, and I found myself thriving in a place I never expected to live.” Amazing the places God causes us to thrive. Often the most unlikely. So glad I stopped here this morning. Blessings!

  8. Great post, Jen! God truly gives us grace for each step of the way. I often get overwhelmed when I think of the big task ahead, but He gives peace when I trust Him day by day. Good reminder, and thanks for sharing!
    Blessings,
    Renee

  9. “Sometimes, things seem impossible. Until we do them. And then they seem laughably possible, through God’s strength and grace.” Yes. A thousand times, yes! For me, this month is a great example of this. I never would have imagined making it to day 20 if it not for His strength and grace. So happy to have found you, Jen!

  10. “Sometimes, things seem impossible. Until we do them.” This spoke to me about the journey of pregnancy loss we embarked on over five years ago. It seemed impossible then, but God carried us through, by His grace. He always does, doesn’t He? Thank you for this post!

Leave a Reply

