31 Days · africa

#write31days {Teaching to Grow}

I stood in the kindergarten classroom, staring out the window, watching for someone-anyone-to walk towards the gate of the school. But the wind simply blew the desert dust around.

It was noon, and my first permagarden workshop was set to start at noon.

Just starting out with our garden project.
Just starting out with our garden project.

My co-facilitator, the kindergarten teacher, thought I was nuts and essentially told me to chill and wait for people to come, since someΒ of the villagers didn’t have clocks and the other schools had to rely on village transportation. I apparently forgot: I was in Africa.

An hour later, our workshop was in full swing. We had several students, a number of people from the village, and a few other schools in attendance, ready to listen to us as we shared our (newly acquired) permaculture knowledge.

Working with some kids in the garden.
Working with some kids in the garden.

I was tickled pink! I had found something I loved, and was thrilled to teach it to other schools who wanted to improve their gardens. And knowing that some families from the village would be learning as well lifted my spirits, since my village was full of hungry families.

Adding compostable materials to the trench beds.
Adding compostable materials to the trench beds.

By the end of the day, we had taught the visitors how to make a compost pit and how to dig a trench garden bed. And though I was exhausted, I was happy. I had found my “groove”. I knew how I wanted to spend the next year and a half of my service.

Enjoying a meal after working hard.
Enjoying a meal after working hard.

Doing exactly what I had done that day. Teach others and share my permaculture knowledge with food insecure people who wanted to change things.

The same garden pictured above, less than 9 months later.
The same garden pictured above, less than 9 months later.

And I began to transition from English teacher to Garden teacher that day, and never looked back.

-Jen


 

Hey friends! I’m holding a giveaway this week, so just click over to this post for a chance to win a great book! It’s open until Friday, October 17th, so come on over!

#write31days
#write31days

Also linking up with The Weekend Brew today!

21 thoughts on “#write31days {Teaching to Grow}

  1. What a cool aha moment! And what goodness you are bringing by growing their awareness and confidence in something that will be a life-long benefit!

    1. I just received news this week that my school won a national prize at a school gardening competition. It’s so encouraging that they’ve taken the project on as their own and have continued it! πŸ™‚

    1. It’s amazing that though it’s different now that I’m back in the states, I’m blessed to do similar work, and I love it! It still astounds me how God ignited a passion in me, and then allowed me to keep doing what I love!

  2. This is awesome. It just makes me smile: you found your passion and a mission and a way to be a blessing – it just doesn’t get better than that. I’m going to have to read on to see if you kept going and still love it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

