31 Days · africa

#write31days {Five Minute Friday: Care}

It’s not often you walk into a training (that you weren’t thrilled to go to, to be honest) and find a lifelong friend (or two).

So that day in February 2012, after another slightly ridiculous travel adventure to the nearby village of Ganyesa, I found myself sitting in a classroom of a school, surrounded by learners and teachers from several nearby schools, ready to learn about permaculture and school gardens.

The two facilitators eventually visiting my school, Mmusi Primary, to evaluate our garden
The two facilitators eventually visiting my school, Mmusi Primary, to evaluate our garden

During the break, the facilitators came over and introduced themselves. As we chatted, we found several similarities, and our friendship began.

Fast forward nine months, and I found myself at their house on Christmas.

They took me on my first safari!
They took me on my first safari!

Holidays in South Africa were typically difficult for me. Though I had friends, I missed my traditional family celebrations. So I hadn’t had a family style holiday in 1.5 years at this point. And yet, these two ladies opened their home to me and celebrated with me as family. They cared for me when I was a little bit homesick and missing snow.

And while we didn’t see snow, we did braai over the fire outside, play games, talk late into the night, and share family meals with one another. I celebrated several holidays in South Africa, but this was the only one that I felt cared for. The only one I felt like part of a family.

Christmas dinner braai
Christmas dinner braai

And I know that when I return to South Africa, they’ll have a bed ready for me, eager to host me as one of their own again. What a blessing!

-Jen

 

#write31days
#write31days

It’s Friday (of #write31days) so I’m linking up my 31 Days post with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday prompt (if that doesn’t confuse you). Are you in the writing mood? Join us at Kate’s place for five minutes of free writing, and many more minutes of fellowship!

4 thoughts on “#write31days {Five Minute Friday: Care}

Leave a Reply

