31 Days · africa

#write31days {Move Beyond Your Comfort Zone}

The bags were packed fastidiously, straining at the zippers, holding my life for two years. As I rolled through the airport, bogged down by heavy bags and unbridled expectations, I could scarcely believe that the time had finally come. The day I stepped on a plane and began my  African journey, moving from my born-and-raised Iowa home to the unknown in South Africa.

A typical. gorgeous Kalahari sunset, one of many over 2 years.
A typical. gorgeous Kalahari sunset, one of many over 2 years.

The next few days held orientation, meeting and greeting, and an grueling 16 hour flight over the Atlantic, surrounded by 56 other volunteers who would be my training cohort. Together, we left our lives in the USA, moving to a situation that we had very little knowledge about.

A child in my village doing one of his daily chores-gathering water.
A child in my village doing one of his daily chores-gathering water.

I didn’t know where I would be living, what we would be doing, what language I would be speaking, or even where I would be sleeping that night. The precious little I did know still left me unprepared for the ups and downs of Peace Corps service.

101_2704
The school I would eventually work at, Mmusi Primary School.

There came a time during this process when I had to decide if I would stay or go. That moment when I said goodbye to my family in a busy airport hallway. Not knowing if I would see them at all for two years, or when I’d even hear their voices again. And despite the very difficult goodbyes, I chose to go, rather than stay.

To move far beyond my comfort zone.

To embrace the unknown.

Growing in Faith

-Jen

7 thoughts on “#write31days {Move Beyond Your Comfort Zone}

  1. I’ve just stumbled across your blog! Read Day 1-13 in one go and cannot wait to read more. As a South African I enjoy your perspective. My first language is Afrikaans, my second English and my third Setswana. So I enjoy all your referrals. Your are speaking my language(s). I’ve subscribed and cannot wait to read more!

    1. Thanks Amanda! It’s amazing how God brings people together in the strangest of ways, isn’t it? From one blogger to another! 🙂 I’ve been having fun reading your posts as well!

Leave a Reply

