Reviews

Book Review: Colliding with Destiny

colliding with destiny

I recently read Colliding with Destiny, which is a 31 chapter study on the book of Ruth written by Sarah Jakes. I ended up consuming the book rather quickly, taken in by the honest writing of Jakes and the compelling story of Ruth. And though I have read the book of Ruth before, with Jakes’ commentary, it was almost like reading a new story.When I first began reading, I found the structure of the book to be strange, with each chapter being only 2-3 pages long in general. However, I found myself enjoying the layout, and I think it would make a wonderful morning devotional. Each chapter starts with a few verses from the book of Ruth. Then Jakes shares a short personal anecdote which she beautifully relates to the scripture. After a commentary on the few verses, which often includes cultural references from the time of Ruth, Jakes provides a journal prompt and several questions.

I really enjoyed this study and loved the personal touches Jakes added to the book.  She wove many stories from her life, and I found myself wanting to know more. I’d love to read Sarah Jakes biography after reading Colliding with Destiny.

My favorite part of this book is that Jakes took and a very old story and turned it into something very relevant in our modern world. And aesthetically, this book is beautiful, from the cover to the headings and embellishments inside. It was obvious a lot of effort went into the writing and presentation of the book, which was lovely.

I would recommend this book to any woman seeking to dive deep into the book of Ruth and her legacy.  It would make a wonderful month-long devotional, or even a Bible study. Undoubtedly, anyone who reads this book will take something away from it.


I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.

-Jen

One thought on “Book Review: Colliding with Destiny

Leave a Reply

