Faith · Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Whisper

Zinnias

I pull off the gravel road, roll down the windows, and turn off the radio, willing my self to be immersed in the sounds of nature. Surrounded by a peace found in the aloneness of the great outdoors. As I listen, the beauty of creation whispers into my ears, filling my heart and soul.

As the nature sounds wash over me, the beauty around me overwhelms my eyes. And peace of being outdoors, surrounded by prairie, seeps deep, filling me to overflowing.

photo3_1

As I stand, God whispers a message into my heart. One full of creativity, love, and hope. Carried with grace to a weary, worn human. He uses these nature moments to write a message on my heart, whispering His message to the deepest levels of my being.

Sometimes I’m looking for a voice shouting His words to me, bowling over my worries and fears, encompassing everything around me. I long for the power of booming thunder, and I nearly miss the whispers.

flowers

Yet when I slow down and listen, they are unmistakable.

I can’t ignore this message He whispers through creation.

God speaks to us in many different ways. Sometimes it’s a message that stops us in our tracks, reverberating off the walls and our hearts.

deliverance

But sometimes, the loudest words we hear are the ones whispered in the deepest parts of us, affirming everything we believe in and filling us with His love.

Are you listening?

-Jen

It’s Five Minute Friday, and I’m linking up with the awesome #FMFParty community at Kate’s place. Join us!

18 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Whisper

  1. Ahhhh! Your photos alone speak to me but reading your words-just ahhhh! The loudest words are the ones whispered in the deepest parts of us. Amen to that! Thank you friend for blessing me with your words.

    1. Yes, I’ve been there where I’ve missed out on His whispers, waiting for the trumpets to sound, declaring an obvious message. But he doesn’t always work in loud ways. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. This reminds me so much of Anne Shirley’s feelings about prayer and nature. There is something about the solitude and yet not aloneness that comes with being in the great outdoors. It’s so hard to appreciate that as a mom sometimes because we get caught up in all the entails a nature outing like diapers, lunches, sunscreen, bug spray and hats. Thank you for the beautiful image and important reminder.

  3. Beautiful words & photos, Jen! Loved this —> His whispers, “affirming everything we believe in and filling us with His love.” So grateful He knows exactly what we each need to hear! Happy Friday!

  4. Oh yes – this: “But sometimes, the loudest words we hear are the ones whispered in the deepest parts of us, affirming everything we believe in and filling us with His love.” So Much Amen, my friend! I love this!

  5. Hey Jen!
    Your words definitely made me exhale today. Such a beautiful reminder that in the times when we are looking for the big, loud announcement from God– we miss the quiet sure truths He gives us.
    Have a great weekend, friend!

  6. Amen. This week I turned off noise for a while here and there and it was nice. That allowed me to process things with God and gain His perspective on even the littlest of things. All of creation truly testifies of His glory.

Leave a Reply

