Five Minute Friday · Intentional Living

Five Minute Friday: Begin

Begin.

IMG_1349 (1)

Go.

Just over a year ago, I posted my first Five Minute Friday post. And several months later, I began joining in on the twitter party beforehand, the #fmfparty. I timidly jumped in, scared among all these “real” writers, tossing my words into the mix. Terrified someone would call me out for what I thought I was….a sad excuse for a writer.

But what came was support. Encouragement. An entire community that opened their arms and hearts to this young lady just learning to claim the term “writer”. From this community, I rediscovered a passion for writing, and became inspired to type out my first book. It’s still in the works, but each day brings me closer.

Then tweets started to fly between the #fmfparty. An email here or there. And eventually, real mail through #fmfpartysnailmail. This virtual community became real.

It brought me through some very difficult times in the past year, and helped me find the words to describe it all.

Cooking during the #FMFParty on Twitter
Cooking during the #FMFParty on Twitter

That June Friday a year ago, I had no idea what was beginning. I didn’t realize that friendships would develop. I had no clue that I would get to know some of these women personally, and that I would have overwhelming urges to pray for them after reading a single tweet. I didn’t know that I would have a community to reach out to when I really needed one.

IMG_1233

That Friday, a journey began. This week, we all walk down a new path together as Lisa-Jo hands off this wonderful blog party to another lady. One who is every bit as wonderful. And next week, Kate’s journey as hostess of #FMFParty begins. And this whole wonderful, crazy, beautiful, and honest community will be walking with her.

Stop.

So, this week is the last week that Lisa-Jo is hosting Five Minute Friday. Be sure to come next week and meet Kate Motaung, who will be the new hostess. And please, friends, pray for her this week as a new chapter begins for her!

And if you don’t know what Five Minute FridayΒ is…well, it’s when hundreds of bloggers gather together to simply write. Together, for 5 minutes, all on a common theme. Join the fun. You won’t regret it!

-Jen

16 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Begin

  1. Hey FMF neighbor! I love hearing your back story of how you jumped into this community. They truly are the most amazing bunch of people with so many encouraging words! Thanks and keep on writing!

    1. Fun story-I “lurked” on FMF for probably a year before jumping in. I was living in VERY rural South Africa, and I couldn’t comment on certain blogs via my cell phone internet. So I read, but I never wrote for fear of not being able to respond to the person ahead of me. I was SO happy when I moved to a new village, because my organization had real computers with internet. That first week was long awaited!

    1. Courtney, your words are always beautiful and inspiring, and when you wander over here, I love how you always, always build up and encourage. Women like you make FMF awesome, and I’m so glad you’ve joined in!!

  2. You are most definitely a writer!! Don’t ever step back from claiming what God has called you to do, dear friend. You have a story to tell and we need to hear it! (And I love your virtual brownies during the twitter parties.) πŸ™‚

    I’m so happy we’re in #fmfparty community together. And the #fmfpartysnailmail? Happiness in a little envelope. πŸ™‚

    1. Asheritah, how sweet! For a long, long time, I hid it all, believing in some many lies. But y’all have helped me realize what writing truly is, and it’s brought joy to my life in many unexpected ways. Brownies included! πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks for sharing how you began on this FMF journey, Jen. I’m just beginning, only second time for me, and it’s great to read just a little bit of your story of the last 12+ months.

  4. Jen, I’m so glad that I found you on the #fmfparty. You have been such a blessing to me and I pray that in some small way I’ve been used of God to encourage you as well. So excited about your writing, about your blossoming here on your blog and also in your book! Praying the the Lord continues to encourage and sustain you and that the words will flow on the page as you share your heart! You are LOVED

    1. You are such a blessing, dear! And such an encourager. Thank you for all your support, and I’m also SUPER glad we’ve “met” through #FMFParty!

  5. Jen, this is the heart of FMF for me. It’s not so much about the writing (which is incredible) but the people (who are even more incredible)! These are heart sisters and who doesn’t need more of that? πŸ™‚

    1. It really is all about the people. A little about the writing, but really all about the community! I love the term “heart sisters”. It’s perfect!

Leave a Reply

