Five Minute Friday

Community in the Mailbox {Plus a Vlog!}

Imperfect letters scrawl unevenly across the page, far from the uniformity of a tweet or blog post. And yet these words weave together just the same, despite the ink smudges and crooked letters. Some ladies manage to write as beautiful on paper as they do on the computer, but my hands have never  been coordinated enough to learn proper penmanship. Even so, these words have strength.

Tucked into an envelope they go, off to a fellow blogger many miles away. With it goes a prayer and a blessing.

And then I receive my mail, a handwritten letter among the bills and junk mail, I find an envelope full of encouragement and joy. It’s a wonderful exchange.

snail mail

Because handwritten words matter. Emails are great, and text messages are fine. But when someone takes the time to pick out a card and write out a message, something powerful happens. Caring happens. Joy happens. Friendship happens.

I’ve been writing with #FMFParty for over a year now, and following it for much longer. After returning to America late last year, I started joining in on the Twitter party before the writing on Thursday nights. I timidly joined in the first time, and was welcomed with open arms. And these #FMFParty ladies have become more than just fellow bloggers.

#FMFPartySnailMail, and a few other things. :)
#FMFPartySnailMail, and a few other things. 🙂

They have become a support system. They are a fellowship hall. We are a community. When I’m joyful, they praise with me. When I’m down, they pray for me. I know many people don’t understand how this could work…we’ve never “met” and we don’t “know” each other.

But that isn’t true. We are readers and writers…modern day pen pals. And through #FMFPartySnailMail, we are becoming real pen pals. Writing out physical letters, buying real stamps, and finding postboxes to slip words of encouragement into, sending them onward to a sister in need of a kind word.

And through it all, I’ve realized….

IMG_1231

I really need a letter opener. 😉

But seriously, I’ve learned that community comes in all shapes and sizes, and friendships form in the most unique of ways. When I count my blessings, I count my #FMFParty ladies.

The best part about #FMFPartySnailMail isn’t receiving a card. It’s reading about a new friend, finding the right words to send, and praying over her throughout the week. For me, that is where the blessings are.

-Jen

15 thoughts on “Community in the Mailbox {Plus a Vlog!}

  1. I loved “They are a fellowship hall” too!! Great vlog, Jen! Love to get snail mail and love to read everybody’s sweet words. So fun! And I think we all need a letter opener! 🙂

  2. Loved this, Jen. It is so very true. There is something so special about seeing handwriting. Not penmanship, my friend. Handwriting. It is so personal to each of us – neat or sloppy, big or small, slanted or straight, blue ink or black. And then to realize…there is a hand which touched our paper, a person who cared enough to share. Yes, that is why I will hold onto & cherish each card I receive for a long time to come!

  3. Why is this the cutest thing I’ve ever seen?!? You’re adorable and I loved both your words and the video. My cheeks hurt from smiling the whole time. Your fridge picture makes me so so happy but my very favorite is “They are a fellowship hall.” That’s exactly what this is. You nailed it.

    1. Kaitlyn, you are just the sweetest! 🙂 I’m not a fan of videos of myself, but I just love this community so much! Thanks for the encouragement, friend!

  4. Amen!!! I love this and I love that we both touched on how it can feel like it is just us – but always it is us with Him! (You said it so much cuter though!) xoxo (Oh and YES… Hashtags SHOULD happen in real life!) #itslikeyouknowme

  5. Jen, I love the fellowship hall! ANd I love your wall of thoughtful things pictured! I am new this round and enjoying sending love and prayers in the mail. I will have to listen to your Vlog later as my computer speakers are not so good. I will watch it on my Tablet!

Leave a Reply

