Faith · Intentional Living · Trust

Keep Your Fork

The week at church, towards the end of the sermon, my pastor told a story that has stuck with me. He was talking about a friend, whose grandmother always made incredible meals during the holidays. His favorite moment during holiday meals was when his grandmother would turn to him and say, “Keep your fork.”

You see, up until that moment, he had no idea that some incredible lay ahead: grandma’s home-baked desserts. But when she would tell him to keep his fork, he knew something great was coming.

dessert

In life, we aren’t always given notice of the good things to come. Life can be going terribly or great, and we often don’t know what lies ahead. It can be scary and the uncertainty is unappealing. In the middle of this mess we call life, we forget that as Christians, something better is always waiting ahead. We can get stuck in the everyday routine of life, even when it’s a great routine, and we lose track of the hope we have. Of how bright our futures really are.

You see, even in the good times, life’s hard. There always work to be done, bills to be paid, rooms to clean, schedules to follow, and little ones to care for. In the middle of all this living, it’s easy to lose site of the big picture.

Friends, this life is temporary. It’s a wonderful, crazy, difficult part of our journey, but it’s not the end.

Keep your fork.

DSC_0065

Because the good stuff’s coming. It might be decades, or it might be tomorrow. But don’t lose site of this fact: this life is not the end.

Remember that whole life-after-death, eternal life thing….keep your fork.

No matter what season of life you’re in, be it a joyful one of a sorrowful one, God’s got plans for you. And if you just hold out for it, all the pieces will fall into place. Dessert will be served. So don’t give up hope and turn in your fork with your dinner plate.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11 NLT

We aren’t promised a safe, easy, happy life, and not all our seasons will be perfect. Life isn’t perfect. But God is, and His plans always work out in the end. It might be hard to envision now, but better times are coming. Whether it’s on this earth or in heaven.

So friends, keep your fork. Keep your hope.

Holly Barrett

-Jen

PS. I’m joining up with Holly Barrett for Testimony Tuesday. Come join the fun!

9 thoughts on “Keep Your Fork

  1. The good stuff’s coming. I needed that today, Jen! Such hope in that very sentence. I’m clinging to that one today. So glad I followed you at Testimony Tuesday! God bless you, dear sister!

  2. Amen. I am sure in a valley right now. Not sure when it is going to end and that scares me to the core. But I have to remember that I need to keep my fork. Thank you sooo much for this post. It’s when you think you are all alone, that God shines his marvelous light into your life that you can’t help but know it is him.

    1. Shana, I’ll be praying for you! The valleys are NOT fun, but once you make it through, it seems like everything falls into place and you finally “get” it. 🙂 And yes, we are NEVER alone!

      1. Your prayers are really appreciated. I know that God is trying to show me how he operates so that I can trust him. I have been trying to blog about who God is and how he works so that I can reach others while increasing my own faith, Thank God it is working. So, pray that my heart continue to be receptive to His plans instead of trying to intercept them with my plans.

  3. Love this! My grandmother was always feeding people, too, so I can relate! I enjoyed reading the posts on your blog from this week. Thanks for taking the time to share your great re-naming stories with us at Doorkeeper. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

