Faith · Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Lost

When I was about 7 years old, my Dad, sister, and I went on a hike. I showed my Dad the path our class had taken a few weeks previously at a nearby nature reserve, wanting to show him what I had learned. Little did I know that it was the start of a 5k trail, and despite my protests, Dad wouldn’t turn around.

Hours later (okay, it felt like it), after scary stories about snakes and Native Americans, we were hot and tired. And tiiiiiired. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was worried that we were hopelessly lost, and Dad kept wandering off the trail to walk on a road next to the path.

I was having NONE of that!ย 

There was a trail. We were going to follow it. So, I did what any unrational 7 year old does and satย down in the middle of the path, refusing to budge. When Dad came to pick me up and carry me, I bit him.

photo1 (12)

Hard. There may have been blood involved.

Did I mention that I *might* have been a troublesome child at times?

I got my way, and we walked in the ditch for another kilometer or so until we finally made it back to the nature center.

You see, I was lost. I didn’t know where the path was going, and when things were suddenly switched up, worries overtook me. I panicked and freaked out.

Sound familiar? Happens more than I like to admit. I don’t always see the wholeย path, but the Lord does. I might think I’m lost, but He knows right where I am.

DSC_0198

Stop.

It’s FMF time, where I gather with hundreds of other bloggers to write together on a common prompt. This week’s word is Lost. Check out Lisa-Jo’s blog for the full blog flash mob!

-Jen

 

24 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Lost

  1. What a powerful analogy, Jen! Thanks so much for the vivid story to remind me of how often I don’t trust the Father who knows the path better than I do.

    1. I’m right there with you! Even though I know my sight is limited, I still think I need to know everything, and throw fits when I don’t!

  2. So true, I wrote about something similar in my #FMFParty post. At times we feel lost, but God has a plan. He knows exactly where we are, and where he’s taking us. Great post!

  3. It’s been said before, but I’ll say it again — great analogy! Remind me not to get near you if you’re in biting season. Troublesome child? Sounds more like normal to me at age 7. Your post is similar to mine in the theme of God always knowing or being near us. I’ve read a couple of other similar posts today. It always gives me the feeling that God is drawing us to one another when our themes are so similar. Have a great weekend, Jen!

    1. Normal? I’ll take it! ๐Ÿ˜€

      And yes, I think He helps us find those who are thinking along the same lines. There are so many ways each prompt could be taken, but I always find some that speak to my heart!

  4. Everyone i have read so far had really solemn writing, including myself, but you made me smile! Not that i condone you biting your dad or the “might” blood but it was fear of being genuinely being “lost” that caused you to react like that so I think its actually cute. Just don’t bite me if we ever get lost together ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

