Faith · Intentional Living

Five Minute Friday: Messenger

Welcome friends! It’s Five Minute Friday, and that means it’s time to simply write. For only five minutes, on a common prompt. Check it out on Lisa-Jo’s blog!

Today’s word is: Messenger.

And to be fair, I have absolutely no clue where this is going.

Go.

DSC_0121

Whenever I see a mailman in a bluish-grey uniform, strolling down the street with a gigantic bag, I smile a bit. You see, in my opinion, mailmen are pretty awesome. They walk for a living, get insane amounts of exercise, and bring something that puts a bright spot in my day: mail.

Friends, I’ll be honest. I love getting mail. I even love it when it’s bills and stuff.

When I lived in South Africa, getting mail was an all-day affair. I would wake up and be out of my house by a little after six am, and walk 20 minutes to the “hitching point” in my village. I would wait for either a bus, or a pickup from my village to pick me up. Sometimes I would have to switch to a bush taxi in the next village over, and it would usually take 2-3 hours to ride the 25 miles into the village where I shared a post box with my friend. After a few phone calls and at times aimless wandering, we would meet up and I would get my mail.

If I had any.

So, as you can imagine, mail in the US is an amazing thing! And I am so grateful for these messengers who bring me bills, letters, cards, and an occasional package.

Lately, my messenger has been bringing more messages of hope, smiles, encouragement, and love than usual, because of the #FMFParty community here. And the #FMFPartySnailMail spin-off, lovingly arranged by Kaitlyn.

Snail Mail

You see, each week for the past several weeks, I’ve sent some encouragement to a #FMFParty friend. And my fridge is covered with encouragement that I’ve received. 

These ladies have been messengers of encouragement, right when I’ve needed it.

Want to join in? Keep an eye on my blog for the details about the next round of #FMFPartySnailMail, and have a chance to be a messenger of hope for someone else.

End.

photo1 (10)

Update: It’s sign up time for Round 3 of #FMFPartySnailMail! The best part-you don’t even have to be one of the #FMFParty regulars: we’d love you to join us though!

So here’s the deal-my friend Kaitlyn is coordinating all the mailing lists, so you just have to wander on over to her blog and sign up. You’ll receive an email from her in a few weeks, connecting you with the other #FMFPartySnailMailers that you’ll be writing to.

So go sign up! Seriously! 🙂

-Jen

 

34 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Messenger

    1. Isn’t it though? Such a joyful part of the day-when I find out I have mail! And I snapped the pic of this mailbox in a historic village nearby. Wish it was mine! 🙂 Thanks for coming by, Linda!

  1. Isn’t it just plain remarkable how the postal system functions in general? I’m still astounded that mail can get across and ocean and over borders and across dirt roads to remote villages and into the waiting hands of eager recipients. Thanks for bringing this fresh perspective into such a “normal” routine in the U.S. And by the way, every time you say “South Africa,” I miss it a little more .. 😉 Grateful to hear that you’ve been so blessed by the FMF Snail Mail. 😉 Hope you have a great weekend!

    1. It is amazing. But the door-to-door delivery that we find in the states is a whole different level of awesomeness! 😀

      South Africa…man, it holds on tightly to the heart, right?? 🙂 Hope your weekend is awesome too!

  2. Oh I love this Jen… I love #fmfpartysnailmail and have been blessed by it as well! Thanks for the reminder of how good we’ve got it here in the States! Perspective is a great thing!

  3. Oh I so want to join the snail mail party. I cherish the written word. I don’t get cards out the way used to in this season of my life but I know it blesses so many when I can. Please let me know when the next round happens.

    1. Hi there! 🙂 I would love for you to be a part! I will be creating the form this weekend so that everyone can sign up again or sign up for the first time! 🙂 I’ll be tweeting the link to the form and it will also be on my blog!

  4. Great post! Growing up in Africa myself I remember these thrills of excitement about getting mail! 🙂 And what a great idea to spin it further and encourage others! Happy Friday!

    1. It was always an adventure to get the mail in Africa! 😀 But usually worth it. Thanks for coming by Katha-hope your Friday is wonderful too!

    1. Hi Anne! I would love for you to be a part! I’ll be creating the form over the weekend so that everyone can sign up again or sign up for the first time! 🙂 I’ll be tweeting the link to the form and it will also be on my blog!

  5. Oh yes #FMFsnailmail has blessed me so much. It seems God sends just the right note at just the right time even when the person sending it thinks they are late.

  6. Great post, Jen. I’d love to know more about #fmfpartysnailmail. I’m trying to really get involved in community!

    1. Abby, I would love for you to be a part! I will be creating the form this weekend so that everyone can sign up again or sign up for the first time – and I’ll be writing a post that explains more in detail. Oh – and I’ll be tweeting the link to the form and it will also be on my blog!

  7. Let’s talk real quick about how much I love this post! And how crazy it is that you would go through so much trouble and time to simply check mail there! Wowwee. I’m so glad you’re a part of #fmfpartysnailmail and that I’ve been able to get to know you a little more recently. 🙂 PS I’ll be putting up details and the form soon!

    1. When I started writing, I had no idea where I’d end up. Then #FMFPartySnailMail popped into my head! 😀

      And yes, it was a crazy amount of energy to check mail. But my parents were super awesome about sending my packages, and my sister sent me lots of letters. So it was usually worth it!

Leave a Reply

