Faith

Five Minute Friday: Nothing

Hey friends, it’s time for Five Minute Friday, where I gather with hundreds of other writers to write with abandon, freely, for five minutes only. Come join the fun at Lisa-Jo’s blog.

Go.

I’ll be honest with you, friends. I often feel like a big old bunch of nothing. I’m not seeking compliments…just baring my heart here. Tonight, I saw a look of Twitter action on the importance of YOUR story, and why we write it.

But many days, I don’t think my story really matters.Ā <-Click to Tweet!

105_1513_1

I’m just an average girl, with an average job in an average small town. Yeah, I’ve done some neat things and seen some amazing places, but I struggle to believe in the power of my story. I often wonder if it really has any impact on other. I have nothing spectacular to offer.

The only redeeming part of my story is God’s grace and His power to change my life into something beautiful. In the scale of His glory, my story is nothing. And at the same time, He cares about it. He cares about me. And friend, He cares about you.

Though I struggle to believe in the power of my words, I’m still here. Yes, I often think my words are nothing, and sometimes that keeps me from writing. But I know He can transform my nothing-amazingness into something truly amazing.

So friends, don’t think you are nothing. In His eyes, you are everything.Ā <-Click to Tweet!

Stop.

-Jen

24 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Nothing

  1. Hi Jen .. This is rich, mature stuff here. I think the best place to be before God is in a position of humility, and that sense of humility is caulked into the bricks of these words. Glad to be stopping by again, I’ve been here before and we share a mutual love for South Africa. Blessings to you as you continue to seek His face.

    1. I’m not sure how humble I am, but it’s something He’s been helping me with. Though I daresay I’m a stubborn student…

      Thanks for coming by Kate! And yay South Africa-we’ll have to share stories sometimes! šŸ™‚

  2. It’s odd how we see ourselves sometimes. I look at you and think “wow she has done so much I wish I could have an impact like her” and yet you still have that same feeling that I think we all get, where our only true existence is IN God! I know we don’t “know” each other but I love getting to know you through your writing and your story and I think if you impacted just one life, in anyway, then you have done well, and you have definitely impacted mine… to be you are a whole lot šŸ™‚

    1. Thanks for the encouragement Marisa! I need it, some days more than others. I know I’ve done some “amazing” things, but comparison can be the biggest downfall of all. I see what others have done, and I feel like I’ve wasted time and opportunities, and I feel so inadequate. The lies of the enemy!!

    1. Thank you! I’ll have to remember that the next time I feel like it doesn’t matter. He must have given it to me for a reason! šŸ™‚ Thanks for reading!

  3. Friend, I love your heart. And your words speak truth and offer such raw honesty. Thank you for sharing them with us.

    Oh, how our story matters even if we don’t think it does! Even if it is only for one person, that one person needs us and our story. We matter.

    And, oh, how we matter to God. He cares for us and he is interested in every detail of our lives. What amazing truth that we too often forget. Thank you for reminding us that we matter. We matter in this world because we matter to the One who created this world.

    1. Thank you, Judith. You are right…even when we don’t think they matter, they do. I can’t always see it, and I struggle with self-doubt and wondering what’s the point of this whole writing thing. But I have faith that He has a plan. And yes, He is fully interested in every little detail of our lives, which is incredible!

      Thanks for reading today, and for the encouraging words!

  4. Hi Jen!

    I totally feel ya with this post.

    Something God has been encouraging me about for — eh, the last year or so I guess — is that He has changed things I at one time accepted core to me being “me”. More than that — He can, does, and is committed to changing me fully into who He is.

    When all of you belongs to all of Him (like I can tell is where your heart is!), it’s only a matter of time! šŸ™‚

    Don’t know if that will be encouraging to you as well, but I just wanted to share!

    1. Isn’t it amazing how He can change us into the person He needs up to be?

      And thank you for the encouragement, Elisa! Your words are wonderful.

  5. Oh, Jen, what a beautiful reminder that He takes my story, me, a nothing most days, and because He is everything, it all becomes something. Just what I needed this Friday morning! Thanks for being a part of my day and FMF.

    1. I do believe we all feel this way at times. But the thing to remember, and I struggle with this, is that God wouldn’t give us our stories if He didn’t want us to use it to encourage others.

      It’s nice to meet you, and thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

