Faith · Reviews

Beautiful on the Mountain Book Review (and Giveaway!)

I was recently asked to review Beautiful on the Mountain, and since I really enjoyed the book, I wanted to post my review here as well. Even better, I’m giving away a copy of the book to one lucky reader. More about that in a bit.

Beautiful on the Mountain: Written by Jeannie Light 

Beautiful on the Mountain

Beautiful on the Mountain is Jeannie Light’s story about her life in the Blue Ridge Mountains. After a divorce, Jeannie left her high-society life to live in a deeply rural area of Virginia. In this book, she unravels a tale unlike any I have ever heard, full of colorful characters and intriguing stories.  Relocating to Graves Mill to live as a sheep rancher high in the mountains, Light soon realized that God had entirely different plans. Beautiful on the Mountain follows her journey from wannabe sheep herder to a pastor of a small rural church.

Beautiful on the Mountain is an engaging book about the highs and lows of having faith when we don’t have all the answers. Though it took me a few chapters to really get into the story, I was quickly hooked. Jeannie Light paints a picture with her words, describing a place that was foreign to me, but soon seemed familiar. I felt as if I was sitting in her living room, flipping through photos while listening to her describe her life in Graves Mill, rather than reading the pages of a book. Interspersed through the book were numerous endearing and comical stories about her life in the mountains that left me smiling.

What stood out most strongly was her blind devotion to God, even when she had no answers. Time and time again, her faith allowed her to experience everyday miracles that were evidence of God’s protection and provision. Though she initially resisted God’s call to service, her eventual acceptance allowed her to experience a unique and rewarding journey of faith.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is listening for God’s plan and yearning for stronger faith. Throughout Beautiful on the Mountain, Jeannie Light shares moments where God’s hand in the situation is undeniable.

light

—–

So, onto the fun stuff-the Giveaway! I’m giving away a copy of Beautiful on the Mountain to one lucky (US only) reader. The giveaway ends at 12AM on the morning of Wednesday, May 28th.

You can enter the giveaway by leaving a comment on this post (Prompt: tell me about a time when God surprised you by meeting your needs, big or little). You can earn extra entries by following me on Twitter, tweeting about the giveaway, posting on Facebook or Pinterest, or following my blog (button is on the right hand side). Note: You MUST comment on this post to be entered into the drawing, and please tell me if you’ve earned any extra entries.

Update: I used a random number generator to select the winner, and the winner is….(insert drumroll)….Debi S! Congrats!!

For those of you who didn’t win-thanks for entering and keep an eye out for future giveaways. And I really recommend purchasing this book, because it’s pretty awesome. 🙂

Good luck!

—–

In exchange for my review, Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of Beautiful on the Mountain.

-Jen

9 thoughts on “Beautiful on the Mountain Book Review (and Giveaway!)

  1. Hello Jen!
    I pinned it, tweeted it, and posted on my Facebook and now I am leaving a “comment”. 😉

    1. A cool time God met a request was when I was 17 or so. I had a wart on my middle finger that had been there since 2nd grade. I said to God one day while I was at the base of an apartment’s stairs “God, if you are real make this wart go away”. The next time I looked at my middle finger it was gone!
      It was so cool because it was just a simple conversation between He and I and I didn’t specify which finger either!

      1. That’s really cool! Isn’t it amazing how God pays so much attention to every little detail of our lives? Even a simple, spur-of-the-moment conversation is one that He listens to and responds to.

        Thanks for coming by! I’ve noted your entries-you can earn additional entries each day by reposting on facebook or retweeting on twitter. Just let me know if you do.

  2. God has transformed me in areas of struggle like anger and impatience. Going to his word daily has profoundly changed my heart 🙂 Thanks for the give away! The book looks fantastic! I also tweeted about the giveaway and follow you on Twitter

  3. Not sure how many times I have shared this post. 🙂 So many times that God has met my needs. Being unemployed God has been providing in ways I would not expect. But I guess the biggest need God has met for me would be in the countless ways He shows me He cares for me regularly.

  4. The biggest time in my mind right now is His protection in a car accident in March. The car started to roll towards my side, bounced several times and straightened and then landed very gently in the middle of a field. It could have been really awful… my friend’s car was totalled, but we were both completely okay. His care for us is truly amazing!

Leave a Reply

