Faith · Intentional Living

Dead Faith

It’s easy to go to church, sing a few songs, join a Bible study, tithe, and send your kids to Sunday School. Check, check, done. Stick a gold star by your name. But is your heart in it?

Friends, faith isn’t a checklist. There’s no perfect formula. <-Click to Tweet

faith without works

All talk and no action is a dangerous place to be. Our lives should reflect God’s love, not in what group we belong to or how many hours we spend at church, but by what we do. We can attend church and sing worship songs, but if it doesn’t affect our actions through the week, we need to stop and think. Faith in God should reflect His love at all times, not just on Sundays. By all our little actions everyday.

I’ll be the first to admit that I am not a good model of God’s love at all times. I mess up. A lot. I let my frustrations and emotions get in the way too often, and fail to share His love in the ways I act. It’s hard. But this is what God calls us to-He wants us to show our faith in our actions.

But I don’t want dead faith. I want a vibrant, thriving faith in the Creator of all things. <-Click to Tweet

In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.” James 2:17

It comes down to action. We can claim to have this wonderful faith in God and claim to know His love, but if our actions don’t reflect that, we need to reconsider. We all know actions speak louder than words.

photo3

Friends, I’m praying for God to help me remember that my actions need to be a reflection of His love, at all times. Who is with me?

 

-Jen

Leave a Reply

