Five Minute Friday · Intentional Living

Five Minute Friday: Mess

It’s Friday (almost) and it’s time for Five Minute Friday with Lisa-Jo Baker. Where we write for just five minutes, with no editing and no planning.

Go.

Thoughts flit around, crashing into each other and falling into pieces. As hard as I try to pull together a concrete thought, they just keep slipping through my fingers like smoke. Finally, I surrender to the mess. I toss in the towel.

The hair mess I got to deal with this morning. #selfiemess
The hair mess I got to deal with this morning. #selfiemess

Friends, if you could see into my head sometimes, you’d think I was losing it. Sometimes it’s a big ole mess, and I struggle just to sort things out and make a coherent thought flow past my lips.

Life’s messy, and it’s easy to think we’re the only ones with some mess. Friends, you aren’t.Β <–Click to Tweet

We’ve all got some mess in our lives, even if it looks like we have it all figured out. We can hide it, or we can embrace it and let Jesus turn it into something beautiful.

We can say “I’m fine” and give a fakeΒ smile, or we can bear our souls and say “I’m not fine, but someday I will be.” Let’s embrace the honesty and start turning our messes into masterpieces.

Instead of putting on a mask and shoving the dust under the rug, let’s get real. Let’s toss some glitter into that mess and invite some friends in for some love and healing.

Stop.

-Jen

17 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Mess

  1. Yes, let’s toss some glitter into the mess. And wear a tiara on top of it. That’s my favorite way to dress it up. Thanks for the encouragement to be real and to speak about how God is working in the middle of our messes.

  2. So true, “We can hide it, or we can embrace it and let Jesus turn it into something beautiful.” I need to start letting Him handle my mess than me making it more of one. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the funny picture, it made me laugh. Girl, I have some crazy hair days too! πŸ˜€

    1. Glad I made you smile! I took it to send to my sister this morning, and when “mess” popped up, it made me think of the crazy mess that is my hair in the morning!

  3. Oh how long I lived behind the mask of “I’m fine”, It can be a hard place to be, that place where we pretend we have it all together and wish for once that we can be the one who just is honest about life. I love the freedom that God brings when He shows us that we can simply be ourselves.

    1. Oh yes, that mask start to rub wrong after awhile. And your heart is rubbed raw while trying to keep up appearances. Isn’t it amazing to take it off and be real, with real people? And with a real God?

  4. Your ‘selfiemess’ reminded me of the new Dove ad on beauty, have you seen it? It made me cry. It was so good on true beauty…I love that you posted that and all the other things too, but your selfiemess made it all real πŸ™‚

    1. I’ve seen some of their ads, and they have made me cry too! I’ve heard some things about their new ones, so I’ll have to YouTube it. But thanks, I felt vulnerable putting it up, but it’s all part of messy me, and it belonged. πŸ™‚

  5. Glad we can be “real” in our messes today. Love your selfie! Thank you for the reminder of how Jesus can turn our messes into something beautiful! Blessings to you for sharing today!

Leave a Reply

