Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Friend

Today is a time for writing-freely and without intent. Writing where the wind takes me, resisting the editor inside and joining in with hundreds of other bloggers for Five Minute Friday.

And today, we’re writing about:

Friend.

Start.

I have this friend. She a beautiful, intelligent, vivacious person who has been a blessing in my life for many years. Our friendship is the kind that movies are written about-lifelong, intense, and filled with many misadventures and great stories along the way. You see, I’ve known this amazing lady since I was around 2 years old. How we met is a story that only dear friends can share.

135_7933070830_4570_n
Being goofy in high school. (My, I had long hair!)

My grandma babysat both of us, and one day a new girl comes in a proceeds to steal my dolly. Oh the horror! The worst nightmare of a two year old. And I went home incensed. The next day,we were best of friends. And we’ve been that way for almost 25 years.

Of course, neither of us remember this moment, but it’s been told many, many times by our moms and grandma. When I lived in South Africa, my friend regularly visited both my mom and dad, to chat awhile with her second family. I’m as welcome in her home as I am mine. We’ve been nearly hopelessly lost on car rides (I mean, who really ends up almost in Carlisle when looking for the Des Moines airport?), laughed for hours on end over ridiculous things, and had many sleepovers through the years. We can crack open a roll of cookie dough and spend hours watching horrible movies, and not feel like we’ve wasted a minute. And we can take absolutely awful-ridiculous-horrify pictures and be happy to put them in a picture frame.

Our friendship is something I treasure deeply, and something I know will never end. After all, if you can’t find a reason to end a friendship in 25 years, how could it possibly end.

101_1893

I look forward to being a part of the major and minor problems in her life, and having her in mine. Just thinking of the next time we can roadtrip to one another for a weekend of crazy-friend-fun puts a smile on my face.

Friends come in all shapes and sizes, and some are in and out of your life. But a true best friend-one to last a lifetime-now that’s a blessing. One who I don’t have to edit my thoughts around or worry about looking nice for? Yes, what a blessing!

6411_1126787288116_1553586_n

Oops…I forgot to set a timer. Not-so-five-minute-Friday this week!

End.

-Jen

 

15 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Friend

  1. I love this tribute to a nearly lifelong friend! I don’t have one friend that I have known that long (unless you count cousins) and I really wish I did. There is something to be said about having a person who has known you through so many changes, isn’t there? Great post!

    1. Cousins can be pretty amazing friends! It’s been amazing to see our friendship change and grow. We can go weeks and weeks without talking, and pick up again without a blink of the eye.

  2. Lovely words about a lovely friendship! Thanks for sharing your best friend with us. Sounds like you have had plenty of memory making times together…thank God he gave us girlfriends! 😀 And I missed the five minute mark today, too…there’s grace for that. 😉

  3. What a lovely tribute of a lovely friendship! So glad you could share your best friend here. It must be a great feeling to have had a friend almost your entire life. God has truly blessed you both, and those of us following your blog.

Leave a Reply

