africa · Faith

#AtoZChallenge: Resilience

It’s yet another day of the #AtoZChallenge, and today’s letter is “R”, and I’m writing about:

Resilience.

During training for the Peace Corps in South Africa, we had some sessions on resiliency in the face of hardship. Living abroad, in a rural village amid mind-boggling poverty can be extremely difficult, and the staff at Peace Corps South Africa wanted to prepare us to be resilient, rather than to give up.

The definition of resilience is

“the ability to become strong, healthy, or successful again after something bad happen: the ability of something to return to its original shape after it has been pulled, stretched, pressed, bent, etc.”

Resiliency is a valuable tool to have. When I’m weak or weary from the difficult times in life, I turn to Him, the Creator of all, to help me be resilient. While I was in the Peace Corps, I told people that I didn’t know how they made it through their two years of service without God. I had to turn to Him and trust Him to carry me through. Without that, I don’t know how I would have made it.

Pray for resiliency, my friends, and I’ll be praying for a little more. No matter what your situation is in life, we can all use a little more of it.

-Jen

One thought on “#AtoZChallenge: Resilience

  1. After longing to travel abroad for some time, I commend you for being involved with the Peace Corps. I also agree that Resiliency is a great tool to have and wish that all human beings continue to develop it so that it can help us get through tough times. The ability of communities to rebuild after disasters such as hurricanes, earthquakes, tsunami’s, etc. show an example of how resilience can bring out one’s strength and endurance.

    ~Nicole
    A-to-Z Challenge
    http://www.madlabpost.com

Leave a Reply

