Crunchy · Intentional Living

#AtoZChallenge: More

Good morning y’all! After regressing to a few days of evening writing, I’m back with a cup of coffee and some words to write. So have a seat, grab a cup, and join in! Today’s letter for the A to Z Challenge is M, and I’m writing on:

More.

Friends, we have a lot of stuff. An appliance for every dish we could possibly imagine, an outfit (or three) for any occasion, and endless drawers and closets full of things we need. But when was the last time we needed those things?

I’m frugal, and I try to live simply, but it’s easy to get sucked into the endless cycle of “more”. Just one more pair of jeans, or one more book. Just another picture frame or candle to add to the collection. A few more things, a little more clutter. I try to avoid it, but it’s hard.

We’re always biggering, as Dr. Suess would say, from The Lorax. Some day that biggering will catch up with us. <– Click to Tweet!

We’ve seen the show “Hoarders” and can’t imagine living “like that”. But how much clutter creeps up around the house? What do our closets, basements, attics, and garages look like?

When I was in college, I took a class on sustainability. One of the first assignments was to do a dorm room audit, where we wrote down everything we own our dorm rooms. Imagine doing that! It brought me shame, realizing how much stuff I owned. From that assignment, I began to reduce. I downsized my closet and took boxes of things to Goodwill. I chose a simpler life. Not because I can’t afford to have all those things, but because I CHOOSE not to have them.

Now, I love cleaning out and donating things to Goodwill. I do this frequently, not because I have a ridiculous amount of stuff, but because I DON’T want to have a ridiculous amount of stuff. I try to give something away if I buy something new. And usually, when I buy new things (especially clothes), I buy them at consignment shops or second hand shops. It’s recycling and reusing, and I love the thrill of the hunt at those stores!

I’m not perfect though, and I’m constantly resisting the temptation to buy more. When I do buy something, I think consciously about whether I need it or want it, and the reasons why. It’s okay to buy things you simply want, but if it just adds to the clutter and chaos at home, it’s not worth it.

Gandhi says it well: “Live simply so that others may simply live.”

So, don’t get sucked into the vortex of “more”, friends. Because a simple life is beautiful. <–Click to Tweet!

-Jen

4 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge: More

Leave a Reply

