Intentional Living

Five Minute Friday: Paint

It’s time for Five Minute Friday, where hundreds of bloggers gather together to write on a common prompt for five minutes only, without planning or editing. Check out Lisa-Jo Baker’s blog for the party!

Today’s word is:

Paint.

Go.

My mind came up blank with this prompt, and for several minutes I sat with absolutely nothing.

I’m not a painter. I can paint a wall, but don’t be surprised if it looks like more of the paint lands on me than the wall. The last time I painted, I help a fellow volunteer paint a border around the world map they had already finished painting. I would up with oil based paint all over my hands, in a rural African village without much to help get it off.

I’m not a painter. My hand’s aren’t steady enough for that sort of artwork.

But I can paint a picture with  my words. I can describe the majesty of a desert sunset or the tranquility of an evening spent beneath the stars, the cool night wind dancing around me. I can share what it feels like to be overpowered by the sound of a thousand frogs waking up from after the first spring rain, filling the air with the sound of a million croaks. And I can tell you about an eerie walk through the dew-kissed bushveld, surrounded by fog as the sun graces the horizon.

Painter I’m not, but painter of words I am.  <–Click to Tweet!

We all have our ways of creating, whether it’s brush strokes on a canvas or the gentle patter of a computer keyboard. God has graced us with different ways of viewing our world and sharing it with others. Some sculpt, some strum a guitar, some paint, and some of us write.

End.

-Jen

24 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Paint

    1. I hid that artistic side for so long, until I realized that writing was MY form of art! Though I always did want to be a painter growing up… Hope your weekend is great too!

  1. You ARE a painter of words and a beautiful one! Lovely post. And thanks for letting me know about the prompt at the twitter party! 🙂

    1. Thanks, Becky! You’re such an encouragement! And I’ll let you in on the prompt anytime…I know you’ll return the favor if I miss it some night! 😉

  2. I love the imagery of the frogs waking up and croaking–it must have sounded like you were in the middle of an orchestra. It was fun chatting with you last night at the FMFParty ;). Have a fantabulous Friday :).

    1. Oh, it was amazing! Spring in the desert, living near a watering hole…it’s like nothing I’ve even heard before.

      And, it was lovely to chat with you too! Thanks for coming by!

  3. “God has graced us with different ways of viewing our world and sharing it with others.”
    Amen, Jen! While I am leaning in to holding a paintbrush and pressing it into canvas, I much prefer to paint with words! Loved this post!

  4. Words are such a beautiful form of art, one that I’m so thankful for! Blessings to you…wishing you a wonderful weekend, friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

