Crunchy · Intentional Living

#AtoZChallenge: Image

It’s day 10 of the #AtoZChallenge, and if anything, it’s helping me remember the date. I waffled a little bit about what to write for “I”, from imagination to incandescent, but I settled on one which has laid heavy on my heart:

Image.

In this day and age, it’s so easy to get caught up in our image. I’m sure it’s always been an issue, but with the prevalence of social media and the many pictures being shared constantly, sometimes it feels like we can’t let our guard down. That we need to make sure we always look perfect, in case someone’s hastily snapped photo ends up online.

But life’s not perfect, and we shouldn’t worry about looking perfect. Beyond that, why should we be maintaining an online life that doesn’t reflect who we really are?

Silly sisters
Silly sisters

You see, friends, life is messy. It involves bad hair, stained shirts, and occasionally forgetting to put in both earrings. We can spend countless hours making ourselves look flawless, but all it takes is one truck driving through a puddle in the road next to you to ruin all that. And no, that sort of stuff doesn’t just happen in movies.

hats
I don’t even know what I was doing (ok…stealing all of my friend’s hats)…and this is still one of my favorite profile pics. 🙂

As a (crunchy) Christian, I try to live a simpler life. I don’t wear much make up, and I don’t own a plethora of clothes. The majority of the clothes I do own come from consignment or second-hand shops. Me and the newest trends don’t usually mesh well, primarily because I don’t pay much attention to them. But it’s still far too easy to get sucked into worrying about my image.

dad
Early morning snowplowing time

It’s a problem for us bloggers. Let’s be real-how many of us have deleted posts we were writing because we didn’t like how they portrayed ourselves? I have, for one reason or another. How many of us have had to stop what we were writing to think about if we were really writing about ourselves, or our idealistic image of ourselves?

Sister love!
Sister love!

In one way, what we write might come off different from reality. We are writers, and we communicate through written word in a unique way. But our blog image shouldn’t be unrecognizable from the real us. And that’s why I’m posting some of my “real” pictures…showing the goofier (crazier?) side of me.

Me spending some quality time with Princess
Me spending some quality time with Princess

Because life isn’t perfectly staged, well-lit, and edited.  <–Click to Tweet!

-Jen

10 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge: Image

  1. A great post Jen. I have certainly deleted posts because I did not like them or how they read or because they were not perfect.
    Regards
    Jim
    A to Z Challenge

  2. Jen, based on these photos your “image” says: “this girl is a lot of fun; doesn’t take herself too seriously!” Great observations. I did a (slightly) similar topic on B day–Beauty, #atozchallenge. Stop by and leave a comment with a link back to your page here!

  3. Hi Jen, So glad we connected through A-Z! This post totally hit home for me because I do that way too often. I’m inspired to be more transparent. Thanks!

    1. Abby, thanks for coming by! Best of luck on not getting too caught up on the “image” aspects…it’s so easy to get trapped into it though. I speak from experience! 😉

    1. It’s tricky, right? I am constantly thinking about whether I am representing me or the idealized me that exists only in my head. It’s a battle some days!

  4. Pictures aren’t really a problem for me because nobody takes pictures of me lol!! It seems like I’m the only one who is ever carrying a camera around. I will admit that when I have my husband take pictures of me I edit my skin in them. I have acne that I hate, so I edit it out of my pictures. I don’t wear makeup very often either by the way (it makes my skin itch). And my clothes are definitely not fashionable (or new!). I don’t really take my appearance too seriously (except my acne, that’s the one thing that seriously affects my self confidence).

    As for writing blog posts, yes I’ll admit I’ve deleted some because I thought they either were too personal (I don’t like to give away personal information on public blogs), too whiny (I can be a major complainer in person), etc. So yeah I’ve definitely been guilty of that one.

    This is a great post for the letter I. I had trouble coming up with an I post hehe.

Leave a Reply

